30DMC Day 14: The best movie you saw during the last year

Hi there everyone!

I hope you have been enjoying your weekend. It’s time for another installment of the 30 Day Movie Challenge. Once again, do check out Rhey of Sunshine’s blog for her side of the challenge. Today’s post is all about the best movie I saw last year.

I believe it is as good a time as any to reveal my little helper in the 30 Day Movie Challenge. I believe it was last year or the year before that that I decided to take on the arduous task of making a list on Imdb.com of all - yes – ALL the movies I’ve ever watched and rating them from 0 to 10. So, especially for my favourite type of movies, all I have to do to figure out which one it is is to go to that list and just click on the category and show the one I rated highest.

It is because of this list that I can tell you that I saw at least 37 new movies last year and the ones that I’ve rated the highest is a three-way tie between Pacific RimStar Trek Into Darkness and Ender’s Game. Yes, all sci-fi films. You can see where my new-found interest in this genre comes from.

And out of these three films I have to choose …

Ender’s Game

Enders-Game-Poster

Credits: fanaru.com

Honestly, I considered between these three movies really thoroughly. I loved Pacific Rim for its special effects and action but when it came down to it, the movie was just mindless fun, and I have already done a review of it here.

And when it came down to Star Trek Into Darkness, going out of the cinema, I personally thought it was the perfect movie and there was so much in it to love (Benedict Cumberbatch) – but the sad part is that I really can’t remember much of it today to write anything about it, and a movie that I can’t seem to write about says something to me about whether I can place it as the “best movie [I] saw during the last year”.

So, at the end of the day I fall back to Ender’s Game – which I believe a lot of those following my blog are growing entirely sick of my obsessing over and referencing. In fact, this will be the tenth post that I’ve referenced this movie. The tenth post!

But I can’t deny the fact that I’ve watched this movie twice in cinemas, all for the amazing final battle sequence’s special effects. I’ve never had a movie that gave me such skyrocketing goosebumps as this one.

Should I reiterate the plot? I guess I should. Ender Wiggin is the youngest of his siblings and is recruited by the International Military to one day lead a fight against the Formics (otherwise known as buggers), an ant-like alien race who waged war against earth in the first invasion.

The possible reason why I absolutely loved this film last year was because I had such low expectations for it. Going in I had no idea what it was about, I never even heard of Orson Scott Card’s book series (but I read Ender’s Game shortly after watching the movie) and I assumed it was going to be a childish movie, badly executed. Yet I had enough curiosity to go ahead and watch the film. Okay, honestly, I was intrigued by it because of its name. ‘Cause I was obsessed with Minecraft at that time and it sounded like ender pearls. There, you got me.

But watching it in cinemas, I loved the music and I was intrigued by Ender’s intelligence and his attempt to balance empathy and violence. There were also a bunch of metaphors to keep my literature-self entertained. And the graphics were great. I mean, just look at that final scene gif:

Enders-GameEnders-Game2

A lot of people who have read the books prior to the film have extreme criticisms towards this film and personally, I am by no means in their camp. If you have never read the books and you just watch the movie as it is, it is a really decent movie. And, since I’ve watched it twice, it is apparent why I decided to choose it as the best movie I watched lastyear.

I’ll leave it at that. I would analyse this movie further but I believe I’ve done this in other posts, so I’ll just make a link to all of the ones that have had substantial Ender’s Game talk in them: “10 Sci-Fi Movies That I Surprisingly Loved”, and 30DBC Day 18: A book that disappointed you.

So I’ll catch you tomorrow for my favourite romantic film! And if you remembered my pitiful attempt at writing about my favourite romance book during the 30DBC, you’ll find out that tomorrow’s challenge will be no different. Next week is going to be all the “favourite”s posts I realise. So I’m definitely looking forward to what Rhey of Sunshine’s blog‘s picks are for each category.

Till then!

cumuloq <3

2 thoughts on “30DMC Day 14: The best movie you saw during the last year

  1. Pingback: 30 DMC: Day 14 – The Best Movie You Saw During The Last Year | Rhey of Sunshine

  2. Pingback: Overview of the 30 Day Movie Challenge | Cumuloquoise Blog

Leave a Reply

