5 Random Things That May Make You Laugh At Me

1 silver lining - monday

I think it’s safe to say that everyone is fallible when it comes to knowing everything and anything. There will always be something someone has no knowledge of that everyone else believes is just basic knowledge to the entire human society. It’s like that episode of Sherlock where Watson was incredulous that the Great Detective did not know that the Earth goes around the Sun.

tumblr_llzcxpZF8M1qju7t7o1_500

And I think it’s also safe to say that we always love to laugh at that person’s ignorance. Sometimes it makes us feel smarter for that one moment in time. I sure as hell have laughed a lot of times when someone just does not know something I feel is such an essential part of my everyday life. And yes, I do feel bad about it. So here to get back some good karma I will willingly (okay, maybe willing is an overstatement) share some knowledge hiccups in my life.

1. Lucky is There’s a Family Guy

195249-family-guy-peter-wallpaper

For maybe a good few months of Family Guy, I actually thought Peter Griffins name was Lucky. And that’s ’cause I mishear the intro every time (and honestly had to look up the lyrics to get it right) as “Lucky is a family guy”. So, yeah, I would begin a conversation about Peter with, “You know that fat dad, Lucky, in the Family Guy …” And no one, I repeat, no one has corrected me yet  – at all.

2. I Never Knew Robin Scherbatsky’s Real Name Until Today

zctBWeV

I just saw it today: Cobie Smulders. And I cringed. I don’t know why I never bothered looking it up before – I guess I assumed her real name was probably Robin too. But thanks to the Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. and Comic Con, now I know. Cobie.

3. I Shook the President’s Hand Not Knowing It Was Him

Here in my country we have both a Prime Minister and a President, so when I was given the opportunity (along with a whole bunch of other tertiary students) to have “tea with the President” I kind of had the mental picture of the Prime Minister being there, not the president – ’cause I got the two mixed up constantly. In my defence, I had only been back in my country for a year (after being overseas for a good six years).

You can guess how anti-climax it was when I was so nervous to shake his hand and instead, when after I shook it and realised there were no other dignitaries left to shake hands with, I turned to my friend and asked, “Where’s the president?” and she gave me the stunned look. I think we laughed it off afterwards, but inside I was kind of embarrassed.

4. Pull the Plug, It’s Okay

Back when I had my first computer, I honestly thought that the only way to turn it off was to pull the plug out, or just press the button. I think it lasted for a month or so where I literally did not know that “Shut down your computer” existed. It’s safe to say that that method did not last long. Computer got super slow, had tons of viruses and we had to get it repaired.

And, I did not learn my lesson when it came to my first thumbdrive either. Just pulled the sucker out every time.

5. Harry Potter Pronunciations

snape

Up to the fourth book, around the time the first movie came out, I literally thought you pronounced Professor Snape as Professor Snap and Hermione is ‘Her-me-one’ (that one was corrected by the book itself, and I learnt alongside poor Victor Krum). So whenever I read ‘Snape snapped’  I read it in my head as ‘Snap snapped’ and to me it was a very duh moment in the book. Also, thanks to that pronunciation of Snape as ‘snap’ he always produced a mental image of biscuits as well. These biscuits:

AU-1528726_1So yeah. Those are my five (top of the head) random lapses in my brain. For the most part, I think that I’m pretty good with general knowledge – except when I’m not, of course.

Till next time!

cumuloq ❤

Leave a Reply

