Top 10 Best 90’s Cartoon Theme Songs

4 my soundtracks - thursday

This blog post is in response to SourceFedNERD‘s Top 10 Best 90’s Cartoon Theme Songs! And while I respect Steve’s own subjective list, I do not agree that those cartoon theme songs make up the songs of the 90’s kid’s generation … nor can I sing any of the songs that he has mentioned off the top of my head (and I will never find those songs stuck in my head). And why does my list matter? ‘Cause I grew up as a 90’s kid. If anything, I’m the most appropriate 90’s kid, ’cause I was born in 1990 (on the dot). Granted, songs that probably were around in 1990-1993 will probably go over my head as a baby or toddler, I still feel like I am part of a generation who is more affiliated with the 90s than Steve was.

So here is my list of the top 10 best 90’s Cartoon Theme Songs. Each song chosen is from an “animated television show” that was first aired in the 90’s. It follows this Wiki List: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_animated_television_series_of_the_1990s. And a disclaimer, while I do feel like my list may better sum up the 90’s kid’s list, it is still very subjective to the cartoons I watched and loved – I will definitely and inevitably miss some of your favourites (and that is what comments are for):

Honorable Mentions:

First, here are a few honorable mentions. These are either theme songs that just weren’t part of my favourite TV shows but are still probably very close to someone else’s heart, or songs that I don’t find nearly as catchy as others.

13. Dragon Ball Z (90s)

12. Captain Planet and the Planeteers (1993)

11. Cow and Chicken (1997)

And on to the official top ten!

10. Rocket Power (1999)

9. CatDog (1998)

8. Rugrats (1991)

7. The Pink Panther (1993)

6. Bob the Builder (1998)

5. Pinky and the Brain (1995)

4. Sailor Moon (1992)

3. Digimon (1999)

2. Spongebob Squarepants (1999)

1. Pokemon (1997)

I really have a soft spot for the Japanese Anime theme songs. I think, apart from Spongebob Squarepants, and a few Cartoon Network series, they really have a niche for making super rocking intros that, as a child, I’d sing along to with my brother all the time. Either way, this was fun! Maybe I’ll make a 20’s edition of this list some time. 🙂

Till next time!

cumuloq ❤

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Best 90’s Cartoon Theme Songs

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Childrens TV Shows Of The 1990′s | How many do you recognise? | MrHairyBrit - Hairy Man of Youtube

  2. Your blog post is awesome, but where is Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles? Anyways, I recognized everyone of those shows. I wish Cartoon Network would bring back Toonami, because God knows I would rush home just to watch it until I had to do homework.

Leave a Reply

