Guiltiest TGFYV: Allergies and Video Game High School Marathon

5 tgfyv - friday

Listening to: Krewella & Pegboard Nerds – This Is Not The End

This was the week I actually started work. This would/could have been the week when I would/could have legitimately called out, “Thank goodness it’s Friday!” on my blog. But nope. I get the weirdest – I don’t even know whether to call it luck or bad luck or what.

I ended up getting rashes from an unknown mysterious allergen last night. The worse lot were the rashes around my neck, just absolutely bright salmon-coloured rash. So I woke up at 5.30am completely befuddled on whether to just go, disgust all my new colleagues who’d probably have thought that I was contagious or something and go back home as early as possible (you know “sorry, got this rash, you want me to go – okay”) or just head to the polyclinic and get an MC. I kind of chose the latter. Mostly ’cause I know I did all my hard work yesterday so I had no work due urgently for this week.

Still, I felt (and still feel) incredibly guilty ’cause today would only be my third day there. And it’s ludicrous, starting work and going on MC after two days of work. So, yeah, very torn to say the least.

I think I’ve made myself feel even guiltier ’cause my rashes are mostly gone now after taking the medicine from the clinic. And I actually enjoyed my time home more than at work. I guiltily plowed through seasons one and two of Rocket Jump Studio’s Video Game High School.

vghs-01

This web series was not what I expected. I don’t know why, I kind of expected a very old school set-up, you know, with Tron, Space Invaders, Pacman and Tetris – an 8-bit series. From the name I thought it was going to be a bit more like Wreck It Ralph, i.e. where video game characters went to high school. Instead, it was very much more of a teen feel-good (throwback to the 90s) kind of series, kind of like if Degrassi met CorridorDigital.

I know I’m very late on the bandwagon for this series (heck, I’ve been late for other bandwagons – like A Very Potter Musical – it kind of resembles that as well). It debuted in May 2012. But still, it’s the kind of series that, if you’re a latecomer, it’s not too late – yeah, in short, it’s just never too late to give this series a go. Mostly ’cause all the episodes are of a reasonable 20-30 minutes long. And each season only carries a few episodes in them (heck, season 2 only had 6 episodes). I managed to watch it all in half a day.

The plot begins, centering itself around BrianD who unknowingly accomplishes probably an aspiring gamer’s dream: beating an MLG (Major League Gamer), in this case, The Law, on live stream on television. Suddenly, his name is out there, and he shoots up in the rank of gamers, so far, in fact that one of the best video game high schools (aptly named), Video Game High School, offers him a scholarship to their prestigious programme. The rest of the series follows his attempts at surviving the high school, making friends and enemies in turn.

There are definitely some familiar faces, some more low profile from the youtube community and others who are not that low profile in the least (won’t spoil some of the cameos). I would recommend this series more for the gaming nerd, the camp genre fan and any fans of the youtubers featured in it, i.e. if you’re a fan of, let’s say, WongFuProductions, EpicMealTime, RoosterTeeth, iJustine and Strawburry17 (Meghan from the Amazing Race) – and whoever was in there that I missed out.

The series definitely rubs off from Freddie Wong’s style. So if you find his kind of humor hilarious, you’ll find this hilarious. If you don’t get it – if you generally don’t love youtube skit humour – you’ll probably find it stupid and a waste of your time and probably Disney-ish and maybe a worse creation than *gasp* High School Musical.

So, yeah, that’s my two cents on the series. I personally loved it. My favourite parts are the awesome effects they have for the games. (Although, personally, I don’t think a dystopian world where video games are highly prized as a profession is incredibly accurate nor productive for a society – America really went down the drains there). I also loved the more thought out and hilarious lines. If it weren’t for all the youtube videos I “have” to catch up to on my “watch later” list (yes, it’s full again – 50 videos), I’d probably repeat season 1 of VGHS. But, yeah, the fact that I missed out on work and still enjoyed myself – too much – at home, makes me feel guilty.

Yet I still shamelessly advertise what is making me guilty here:

Wow, this was a really long post for a Friday. Usually my Friday posts are just me being lazy and posting a nice video that came out today. Less guilty now. Did some actual blogging work.

Till next time, readers!

cumuloq ❤

One thought on “Guiltiest TGFYV: Allergies and Video Game High School Marathon

  1. Pingback: 30DSC Day 13: Favourite song from a TV show | Cumuloquoise Blog

Leave a Reply

