30DBC Day 01: Best book you read last year

It is here! Day One of the 30 Day Book Challenge. What is this challenge, you say?

Now, the first day post is pretty easy, because I was quite a terrible reader last year. Mostly because I was on my last semester of uni, which meant that I was recovering from reader fatigue for the past four years (my degree requires that I read approximately 72 [yes, I did the math] books per year). So last year, not only was I in my final semester, which required minimal (if not repetitive) reading, the rest of the year I practically did squat but sit in front of my laptop and just watch youtube videos every other day – who am I kidding I watched it every day.

So most of my reading was accomplished during my November/December break. And I read exactly these books:

  1. Hunger Games
  2. Catching Fire
  3. and yes … Mockingjay
  4. Ender’s Game
  5. Divergent

Yes. You can count it all on one hand. To sum it up, this post just required me to choose between these five books. And I have to say the one I preferred out of all of these was … *drumroll*

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

It really wasn’t a very difficult choice, to be honest. The first two books were solid reads. But having watched the movies really takes the joy out of imagining the world of Panem and its wondrous characters for the first two. Apart from the Mutts and Avoxes, I have to credit the movies for staying true to the novels. I just hope that Mockingjay follows faithfully in their footsteps.mockingjay_novel

Mockingjay for me was an emotional rollercoaster – but rollercoaster doesn’t sound like the perfect image to describe the torment it brought me. It was like an emotional .. gut wrencher. That sounds a lot more right. It was like grinding two rocks together that wouldn’t stick – in the most awesome way possible. It was exactly how I imagined a revolt to possibly end up like. And there was more than enough twists and turns along the way to make up for the absence of a reaping and a main hunger game event.

I really don’t want to give away too much, especially with such a high-stakes book. All I will say is that Collins did a great job in the character development in this final novel. I’m sure I’ll read this again closer to when part one comes out for this movie just so I can recover from the emotional shock and trauma it gave me the first time reading it – or to suffer it all over again.

So for today, for day one of the 30 Day Book Challenge, I choose Mockingjay!

Once again, be sure to check out Rhey of Sunshine for her side of the 30DBC! I’m personally interested to know which book she chose cause, unlike me, she devoured books last year – even bought herself a kobo, like her personal reading utensil, to make the feast easier – okay, I got to stop with the metaphors today.

Till next time!

cumuloq ❤

 

Leave a Reply

