30DBC Day 22: Favorite book you own

Hi guys!

So we’re on to day 22 of the 30DBC. Before I begin, a kind reminder to check out Rhey of Sunshine‘s blog as well as we conquer this challenge together.

For today, I’ll be looking at the favourite book I own. I own a lot of books and I’m honestly so reluctant to get rid of any of them. Once I buy a book it is like I’m adopting a kitten. I have several favourite books that I own – but I have to say that my favourite book is …

The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy & Other Stories by Tim Burton

Why is it my favourite? Because, look at it! I love the jacket sleeve and the classic hardcover, the silver writing and the gorgeous Burton artwork. It looks so beautiful – and I know how you’re not supposed to judge a book by its cover, but if you had to, this book has just a deceptively pretty cover.

The second reason why I love owning this book is because of the artwork in it. It can be so easily mistaken as a children’s book. The illustrations are lovable and comic, yet dark and disturbing at the same time. I just love flipping through the pages and seeing all the sad, forgotten, mishap children of Burton’s world.

robot-boy3

 

Lastly, apart from how this book is just a feast for the eyes, the stories (or more like poems) themselves are just so entertaining – in the darkest way possible. They end in such tragic yet perfect ways. I can’t really say which one is my favourite … I love the tragic tale of match boy and stick girl – a pair that were just not meant to be, and the girl with many eyes. As a whole, they are all just misfortunate children.

You can look at it deeper if you like, you can see it as a way for other children – or adults – to cope with their problems, parents who never loved them, never being able to fit in the world, but for these poems, I prefer to keep it simple. I take them as (ironically) light stories which I can read again and again.

Hence, it was worth buying, and hence, I will cherish it for a very very long time.

Till next time!

cumuloq ❤

One thought on “30DBC Day 22: Favorite book you own

  1. Pingback: Day 22 – Favorite Book You Own | Rhey of Sunshine

Leave a Reply

