30DBC Day 27: The most surprising plot twist or ending

Hi guys!

So here’s another 30 Day Book Challenge. Today I’ll be looking at a book I’ve read with the most surprising plot twist or ending. Actually I’m thankful to have read a few books with incredible plot twist endings. I’m thankful because I’ve decided to turn this into more of a category list instead of a description of one book’s plot twist. I thought this would be best because I really don’t want to divulge the plot twist of these books. I’d rather not write down spoilers. Instead, I’d rather list down these books, hint at the plot twist and have you guys read them yourselves and get absolutely blown away by them.

So, here are the books …

1. Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

Yes, I mentioned this book again but honestly this novel has the #1 plot twist! I did not expect to see it coming and, unlike some novels where the ending is a stretch, this one just fits in so well. Palahniuk should write detective novels. The beauty of this plot twist, after knowing it, changes the entire story – and not just for the events after, it changes everything you’ve read from the first page onwards. And isn’t that something remarkable? When you can literally never read this book the same way you did the first time you did. Yes, that is the magnitude of the Fight Club plot twist. You remember it for the rest of your life.

2. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Honestly, when reading this plot twist when I was a child, I thought J.K. Rowling was a genius – and I felt like an absolute dingbat – and a judgemental idiot. I feel like I can reveal this spoiler because so many people have either read or watched this, but then again, I’ll just keep it as a known secret between me and you, the reader who has read it. I know there are many plot twists that appear after this novel – but honestly, this was the first one that had me stunned. And the one I shall mention now.

3. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

Yes, another book I’ve already mentioned – actually in the book that disappointed me challenge. But, regardless of whether it disappointed me or not (only cause I expected it to be better than the movie), you can’t deny that the ending is a shocker and has so many implications to it. The fact that the General pulled a fast one on both Ender and the readers is worth the read. And I heard that the follow-up book had another plot twist in it as well worth reading.

4. Atonement by Ian McEwan

The ending to Atonement is heart-wrenching – and the novel’s ending and the movie’s ending are different, and they are equally heart-wrenching plot twists. At one point in time Atonement was my favourite novel. The plot twist at the end was part of the reason why. The movie’s gorgeous soundtrack is part of the reason why too.

So those are my top four favourite plot twist novels. I would recommend anyone read these novels just for their amazing endings. Please go check out Rhey of Sunshine‘s blog as well for more books with plot twist endings!

Till next time!

cumuloq ❤

One thought on “30DBC Day 27: The most surprising plot twist or ending

  1. Pingback: 30DBC: Day 27 – The Most Surprising Plot Twist Or Ending | Rhey of Sunshine

Leave a Reply

