30DMC Day 02: Most inspiring movie

Hello there everyone!

On to day two of this 30 Day Movie Challenge and today’s topic is “most inspiring movie”. I take today’s challenge to mean the most inspiring movie for me and I have a feeling that I will get very emotional and passionate about this one. Said movie is …

Homeless To Harvard: The Liz Murray Story

Homeless to Harvard

I don’t think this movie is really well known, but when I caught it in on television, it really resonated with me. I’ve watched it probably two or three more times since then and it has really buried itself into a soft spot in my heart.

This movie is based on a true story of a girl, Liz Murray, whose parents were drug addicts with good intentions but no means to carry out those good intentions. Because of this, Liz literally becomes homeless and makes an admirable decision to complete high school one way or the other, and (as the title suggests already) manages to earn a scholarship into Harvard through an essay contest via The New York Times.

I knew at that moment I had to make a choice. I could submit to everything that was happening and live a life of excuses… or I could push myself. I could push myself and make my life good.” – Liz Murray

The story is less about her getting the scholarship and more about the journey and hardship she had to get through to make it to where she wanted to be.

459995_059This story really struck me when I was sixteen. Liz stood as an unlikely heroine in my life. She taught me determination in my studies; whenever I felt absolutely reluctant to do my homework I’m reminded of Liz taking the train back and forth before school and reading her books and completing her assignments before classes. Whenever I felt reluctant to go for my part-time job, I’m reminded of the image of Liz scrubbing dishes and reading pages of her homework on pegs that she clips in front of her on a washing line while she does her work. And I guess I partially owe it to this movie for pushing me so hard against the adversities in education that I was met with later on in my life.

My dream to earn a scholarship (one that was never met however) was because of this movie. For a period of my life, my dream school was Harvard.

My favourite quote from the movie (and one that sticks with me till now) is this one:

Sometimes I feel like there is skin upon the world. And those of us who are born under it, can see through it. We just can’t get through it.” – Liz Murray

This was quoted when Liz went with her classmates on an excursion to Harvard. She saw the people walking around the campus, the people who were already in the university and did not seem to understand (from her standpoint) how lucky they were. She felt like she was on the complete other end of the spectrum and felt that she just could not be a part of them, but she wanted so desperately to be.

Thora Birch does an incredible job in portraying Liz, and the rest of the characters, from Liz’s mother and father, to her best friend, Chris are just so well acted.

If you want to watch the full movie it’s actually available on Youtube – yes, all of it. But here is the story from the actual Liz Murray, a true inspiration to everyone who deserves an education but needs that extra push to get it:

So, I guess that is my inspirational movie, a movie about getting an education and demanding for your right to get the best education that you deserve. I thought it was quite timely for me to reflect on this movie as I just finished reading a book with similar sentiments, i.e. Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes, a book that’s the favourite of my fellow blogger, Rhey of Sunshine (perfect segue – though I should stop self-referencing/congratulating myself for these). She is also doing this 30 Day Movie Challenge alongside me, so do check out what has been the last movie she watched, and her most inspiring movie.

I will catch you guys tomorrow for the next challenge on the movie with the best soundtrack!

Till next time!

cumuloq ❤

2 thoughts on “30DMC Day 02: Most inspiring movie

  1. Pingback: 30DMC: Day 02 – Most Inspiring Movie | Rhey of Sunshine

  2. Pingback: Overview of the 30 Day Movie Challenge | Cumuloquoise Blog

Leave a Reply

