30DMC Day 03: Movie with the best soundtrack

Hey fellow readers and movie watchers!

So on to day 3 of the Movie Challenge. Today I’m here to share with you my favourite movie original soundtrack, which is:

How To Train Your Dragon’s OST

how_to_train_your_dragon_hd-HD

Let me start off by saying John Powell is a genius composer. He was a member of Hans Zimmer’s music studio and his discography includes such wonderful movies as EvolutionI am Sam, and a number of DreamWorks Animation films like Shrek. This score was nominated for an Academy Award for Best Original Score in 2010, along with Inception by the incredible Hans Zimmer. However both lost out to The Social Network. Let’s just say that that year had incredible composition competition (alliteration!).

That is not to say that the OST lacks appreciation. “The soundtrack won Film Score of the Year and Best Original Score for an Animated Feature in the IFMCA, an Annie Award for Best Music in an Animated Feature Production, as well as many other nominations in the Academy Awards, the BAFTA, the Saturn Awards, and the World Soundtrack Academy.” (Source)

Personally, I could listen to the How To Train Your Dragon soundtrack on infinite loop – which I actually do sometimes when I am studying and I need music that has no words in it and just gorgeous instrumentals. It is possibly due to this reason that I have been exposed to a number of incredible soundtracks. Yes, I just shared one of my studying/essay writing secrets: I listen to OSTs on loop.

What I love the most about this soundtrack is how it captures the mood and atmosphere of each scene in the movie brilliantly. I’m a sucker for celtic-inspired music and the How To Train Your Dragon soundtrack satisfies this craving. This is Berk captures the overall essence of Scotland, with its sprawling hills and valleys, secrecy and misty coastlines; The Downed Dragon is absolutely tense and ominous, like daggers cutting the air.

My personal favourites include, Forbidden Friendship, which stands out from the rest with the xylophone and harp incorporated in the music, and Test Drive, with its absolutely uplifting penny-whistles. Both were nominated as Film Music Compositions of the Year at the IFMCA. The latter documents the moment when Toothless and Hiccup become, not two opposing forces, but a united force. There is something to be said about an amazing piece of music when you can literally hear the moment when Hiccup falls off of Toothless and is free falling – which is mirrored in the discordant cords of the instruments.

In the below youtube video Forbidden Friendship can be found at the 19:22 (19 minute and 22 second) mark and Test Drive can be found at the 30:12 (30 minute and 12 second) mark. Listen out for the moment that Hiccup falls in Test Drive. It is hard to miss.

This is probably one of the few movies that I get absolutely lost in the music while watching the movie. I can’t wait till the second movie comes out next month. This post spurred me on to find the previews of the How to Train Your Dragon 2 soundtrack – and from a sporadic listen, I can tell it is sure to be equally gorgeous, and it stays largely faithful to the main motif (the melodic phrase) of the first movie.

And just for the fun of it, ’cause I can’t just share one of my favourite OSTs without mentioning a second, my second favourite OST has to be from Ender’s Game, composed by Steve Jablonsky, whose scores often times go with Michael Bay movies (i.e. The IslandTransformers, and Pain & Gain).

I chose this one as a contrast to the one by Powell because, while Powell’s music in How To Train Your Dragon is inspired from nature and the past, the Ender’s Game soundtrack, and many of Jablonsky’s works, are inspired from robotics and machines of the future. The two worlds are complete polar opposites – but I am obsessed with both. While I love celtic music, video-game-esque music is slowly growing as a close favourite. (To the extent at which I sometimes even listen to electro in substitution to OSTs.)

My favourite piece from the OST has to definitely be The Final Test. It is just adrenalin for the ears. It captures so well how I want an outer-space battle’s atmosphere to be like.

Oh, and to add on more to the pile, since I am given the opportunity to share my favourite OSTs, the film, Atonement, has an absolutely gorgeously brilliant song as well called Briony, check it out too – and I think, with that, I’ve made it apparent in this post that I’m quite the OST geek. Sometimes I forget to watch the movie and just end up listening to what they’re using as atmospheric music.

Don’t forget to check out Rhey of Sunshine’s blog for her favourite soundtrack (but probably later on today). She has such awesome music taste as well, so it’s well worth the visit! Later today I will also have a review of X-Men: Days of Future Past. And stop by tomorrow as I pick out my favourite classic movie.

Till next time!

cumuloq ❤

3 thoughts on “30DMC Day 03: Movie with the best soundtrack

  1. Pingback: 30DMC Day 19: Your favourite animated movie | Cumuloquoise Blog

  2. Pingback: Overview of the 30 Day Movie Challenge | Cumuloquoise Blog

  3. Pingback: 30DSC Day 14: Favourite song from a film | Cumuloquoise Blog

Leave a Reply

