30DMC Day 06: Movie with the wittiest script

Hi fellow movie-lovers, bloggers and readers!

I hope you have been enjoying thus far. Please do remember to check out Rhey of Sunshine’s blog for her challenge responses too. For today’s challenge, I’m here to choose the “movie with the wittiest script”. Said movie is:

Monty Python and the Holy Grail

montypython_holygrailThis movie is considered to be the best British comedy of all time! But this movie personally took me a long time to get into. Possibly because, if you are not in the right mindset, Monty Python and the Holy Grail will just not be for you.

But please, do not immediately dismiss it! The beginning credits are hilarious and so innovative – but if you are unprepared for what you are going to watch, it is absolutely tedious and you can easily miss the entire gag – which practically turns you off from the rest of the story. Give it a chance though and you will find all the hidden jewels in the script, the scenes and the actors who play all the knights.

Monty Python is definitely witty, but it is also filled with ridiculous humour. It was written and performed by the comedy group of Monty Python.

The story is simple enough: King Arthur and his knights are on a quest in search of the Holy Grail. But the challenges that they face are absolutely nonsensical.

If you really do pay attention, you’ll realise how absolutely brilliant (and yes, I need to use that adverb and that adjective) the writing is.

The scene I immediately thought of for this challenge was this one:

Just reading the script alone, I burst out laughing when Dennis said, “Listen – strange women lying in ponds distributing swords is no basis for a system of government.” I love the fact that there is substance in the comedy. I believe any teacher out there may use their material as a means to both educate and entertain a group of kids studying subjects on history and politics.

Apart from this, there are so many memorable scenes in this movie, such as the Black Knight, the Castle of Anthrax, the knights who say ‘nee’ and the killer bunny, that I would just suggest that you go watch it yourself.

It easily won my brother and I over one afternoon, and I was surprised at how witty and clever the humour was. It almost makes me feel ashamed for having dismissed it so perfunctory when I first came across it a long time ago. But then again I was eleven years old with a short attention span and an allergy for movies that were before my time, so I really couldn’t blame myself.

Till next time!

cumuloq ❤

One thought on “30DMC Day 06: Movie with the wittiest script

  1. Pingback: Overview of the 30 Day Movie Challenge | Cumuloquoise Blog

Leave a Reply

