30DMC Day 17: Your favorite quote from any movie

Hey everyone!

Welcome to another instalment of the 30 Day Movie Challenge. Today it’s all about my favourite quote from a movie. I realised that I’m well prepared for this ’cause I actually do have a separate blog category, “my favourite movie quotes”, on this (although I have not added a new post into it recently).

My favourite one of all time can actually be found here. But I will put it up again for those who don’t feel like clicking on too many links:

Nick-And-Norah-Hold-Hand

Source: marissotog

Thom: You just haven’t figured it out yet, have you.
Nick: What?
Thom: …The big picture!
Nick: I guess not.
Thom: The Beatles.
Nick: What about them?
Thom: This.
[grabs Nick’s hand]
Thom: Look, other bands, they want to make it about sex or pain, but you know, The Beatles, they had it all figured out, okay? “I Want to Hold Your Hand.” The first single. It’s effing brilliant, right?… That’s what everybody wants, Nicky. They don’t want a twenty-four-hour hump sesh, they don’t want to be married to you for a hundred years. They just want to hold your hand.

This quote comes from yesterday’s favourite teenage movie, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist

When I watched this movie, this moment stuck out to me more than all the others, although Caroline dropping and retrieving her gum from the toilet bowl came pretty close as a standout moment.

It was refreshing to me – ’cause a lot of teenage movies are about getting the girl and kissing her and not being a virgin anymore (my innocent way of saying “having orgasmic sex”) and they are all absolutely wrapped up in this concept of lust and desire without acknowledging the fundamental want behind it all.

It’s just all about having someone around to hold your hand. And I loved that this film understood that and that it was Thom that had to tell Nick that.

‘Cause sometimes the best moments in film history are two people just holding hands. Its such a small gesture, but it is so meaningful in itself – it means friendship, it means “I’m there for you”, it means “we’re all in this together” (yes, a little bit of Wildcats right there). It can be both heartbreaking and it can be warm and reassuring.

So that’s my favourite quote and why. Anyway, do check out Rhey of Sunshine’s blog and I will catch you tomorrow for my favourite movie series or trilogy. It might not be what you expect!

Till next time!

cumuloq ❤

One thought on “30DMC Day 17: Your favorite quote from any movie

  1. Pingback: Overview of the 30 Day Movie Challenge | Cumuloquoise Blog

Leave a Reply

