30DMC Day 19: Your favourite animated movie

Hey guys!

So today’s 30 Day Movie Challenge is on my favourite animate movie.

For me there are usually two – or maybe three – camps of animated movies: those that are really amazing, and those that are absolute cliched crap.

And it’s often difficult to navigate between the two. For example, I thought that Cars would be an absolutely terrible movie, but when I finally did manage to catch it on the Disney Channel on television, I actually thought it was a very decent movie. But then again, the fact that Rascal Flatts and other amazing country singers like Brad Paisley’s “Find Yourself” were a part of the soundtrack made it a lot better for me.

So, there are a good handful of animated movies I’ve absolutely loved, e.g. Spirited AwayToy Story 2 and 3, TangledWreck-It Ralph, Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs and Despicable Me. And others I’ve been less appreciative of, e.g. Alvin and the Chipmunks series, Bee Movie, Madagascar and Flushed Away.

The one movie that I’ve loved the most, however, is one that has already been mentioned in this 30DMC – and I tried my best to consider other options as my favourite, but I can’t. I still have to go back to …

How to Train Your Dragon

How-To-Train-Your-Dragon

Hiccup: This is Berk. It’s twelve days north of Hopeless and a few degrees south of Freezing to Death. It’s located solidly on the Meridian of Misery. My village. In a word? Sturdy. It’s been here for seven generations, but every single building is new. We have fishing, hunting, and a charming view of the sunsets. The only problems are the pests. You see, most places have mice or mosquitoes… We have… Dragons!

Sorry guys, did I make it already very obvious how much I love this movie? I chose it back on Day 3 as my favourite soundtrack. It having an incredibly inspiring soundtrack does help it become one of my favourite animated movies. But I also absolutely love the story, the characters and the animation itself.

If you have yet to watch it, this movie is about an awkward pubescent boy named Hiccup who is the son of his village, Berk’s, chieftain, Stoick the Vast – an legendary dragon slayer. Hiccup, on the other hand, is an embarrassment to his father and is hidden away from the others as an apprentice of the blacksmith, Gobber. While his father is away, Hiccup comes across an injured Night Fury which he later names Toothless for his toothless grin. Together, Hiccup learns that dragons are not as hostile as his villagers make them out to be and ends up learning how to train him and, ultimately, befriend him.

I love this story because it sits much like an epic – and draws in the childlike part of me that grew up reading legendary stories of mythical creatures and knights via The Song of the Lioness series by Tamora Pierce. Hiccup reminds me of the beginning stages of Alanna of Trebond, i.e. incredibly scrawny, and freckles all over.

Red-Death-Battle

Source: graphrofberk

It’s not necessarily a movie I can watch on loop – for me, that’s Tangled. But whenever I do watch How to Train Your Dragon, I’m reminded why I love it above all other animated series. The dragons are incredible, the designs for them, the animation for them – and the world they live in is just gorgeous.

The flight scene with Hiccup and Toothless (and then Astrid) is absolutely breathtaking. Plus, there is an absolute spectacular, on-the-edge-of-your-seat climax scene where Toothless versus the Red Death – speed versus strength and size (a David versus Goliath story if ever there was one). I mean, look at that gif to your right and tell me your stomach doesn’t roll over like a dog begging for a treat.

Last but not least, what I’m a sucker for are stories where the son just wants to please his father – make him proud. And How To Train Your Dragon, the first time watching it through, really made me tear with Hiccup’s honest attempts to balance making his father proud of him and doing what he feels is morally right.

I honestly can’t wait to watch How to Train Your Dragon 2.

So tomorrow I’ll let you guys know what my favourite movie from the 80s and 90s are. Don’t forget to check out Rhey of Sunshine’s blog!

Till next time!

cumuloq ❤

2 thoughts on “30DMC Day 19: Your favourite animated movie

  1. Pingback: 30 DMC: Day 19 – Your Favourite Animated Movie | Rhey of Sunshine

  2. Pingback: Overview of the 30 Day Movie Challenge | Cumuloquoise Blog

Leave a Reply

