30DMC Day 20: Your favourite movie from the 80s or 90s

Hello there friends!

Before I begin, I’ll once again link you guys to Rhey of Sunshine’s blog. Today’s all about my favourite 80s or 90s movie. This one is incredibly nostalgic. I didn’t exactly grow up in the 80s, I was a year short of it, but I definitely grew up watching a bunch of video cassettes from my local Blockbusters.

My parents decided to get a membership after my brother and I just watched far too many of their tapes. It was kind of a weekly – or fortnightly – ritual to drive down to Blockbusters and then pick up a pizza from Dominos (’cause they were so near to each other). I watched entirely too many movies and all my friends knew it.

So when it came to choosing my favourite 80s or 90s movies, I decided to go back to that time and only consider the tapes that we rented, ’cause it’s all about being during that period. This is the movie I chose as my favourite:

Ghostbusters (1984)

Ghostbusters

Source: ghostbusters.net

This is definitely my top choice for 80s movie. Sadly, my brother wasn’t a huge fan of the series of movies, but I absolutely loved it.

The film is about a bunch of parapsychologists who start up a paranormal extermination and investigation service called “Ghostbusters” in a rundown firehouse. Their jobs become increasingly more important as New York becomes more and more overrun by ghosts and paranormal activity.

I loved the proton packs, neutrino wands and energy beams and how they were not supposed to “cross the streams”.

Dr. Egon Spengler: There’s something very important I forgot to tell you.
Dr. Peter Venkman: What?
Dr. Egon Spengler: Don’t cross the streams.
Dr. Peter Venkman: Why?
Dr. Egon Spengler: It would be bad.
Dr. Peter Venkman: I’m fuzzy on the whole good/bad thing. What do you mean, “bad”?
Dr. Egon Spengler: Try to imagine all life as you know it stopping instantaneously and every molecule in your body exploding at the speed of light.
Dr Ray Stantz: Total protonic reversal.
Dr. Peter Venkman: Right. That’s bad.

I also loved their penultimate battle with the gigantic Stay Puft Marshmallow Man. I was both extremely terrified of it as a kid and incredibly in love with how adorable it looked. I used to relate my baby godbrother’s arms as “marshmallow arms” ’cause they looked like the body of Stay Puft.

Ghostbusters-StayPuft

Source: screenrant.com

At the end of the day there are so many iconic film moments to Ghostbusters that solidifies its first place position for me as my favourite 80s movie. I mean come on … “Who you gonna call?

Other favourites that I considered and would like to make an honourable mention of include Pleasantville (1998), Anastasia (1997) and Toy Story 2 (1999). These are the movies I just remember completely enjoying when I was a kid. So, let me know your favourites! I know it’ll all depend on your generation. But if there is a favourite 80s or 90s movie that you would love to share, go ahead!

I’ll catch you tomorrow as I share with you my favourite director.

Till then!

cumuloq ❤

4 thoughts on “30DMC Day 20: Your favourite movie from the 80s or 90s

  1. Pingback: 30 DMC: Day 20 – Your Favourite Movie from The 80s or 90s | Rhey of Sunshine

  2. Pingback: Overview of the 30 Day Movie Challenge | Cumuloquoise Blog

Leave a Reply

