Overview of the 30 Day Movie Challenge

Hi guys!

As mentioned on the last post of the 30 Day Movie Challenge, here is my obligatory overview/recap of the 30 Day Movie Challenge now that it is over. It includes a paragraph of reflections (as, for me, a task that is not reflected upon is often not worth doing in the first place), the full list with links to all the posts that I’ve done on this challenge for you to see at a macro level, and a final say on this challenge.

But firstly, I want to thank everyone who has been reading the challenges, those who have liked some posts and commented on others. I would like to personally thank Rhey of Sunshine who has been an amazing friend throughout all of this; I understand that her schedule has and will always be hectic, and I always appreciate and admire how dedicated she is to the challenges – sometimes more enthusiastically than I am.

Personally, I had assumed in the beginning that the 30 Day Movie Challenge would be less work than the Book Challenge, that I would get to write less and I was wrong on both counts. Even though I had a list of all the movies I’ve watched neatly sorted on Imdb.com, choosing the films as a whole was difficult. It is very different to have a high rating for a movie and then to call it your favourite – and this is probably why cult favourites of genres are usually not always the highest ranked films in their genre. To love a movie you need to love it for its flaws as well and to admit that there are some in there, and slowly going through the 30 Day Movie Challenge taught me that. It taught me to embrace the fact that some of my favourite movies in certain genres will probably not go well with other people’s choices. And to just create a list that I will, when looking over it from top to bottom, will love.

Another thing I’d like to mention is how these challenges force me to learn more about the films that I love and, in turn, I encounter so many new films that I never knew existed and will, in turn, watch because of this list. I found this to be the case during Day 7 where I was supposed to pick a favourite documentary. To prep myself, I watched documentaries such as Jiro Dreams of Sushi and Panopticon during my spare time. Now I have so many documentaries that I plan to watch ’cause of just that one day itself. It also taught me the films that my fellow blogger for these challenges, Rhey of Sunshine, loves.

After all this has been said, here is the overview:

Day 01 – The last movie you watched: War Games
Day 02 – Most inspiring movie: Homeless to Harvard
Day 03 – Movie with the best soundtrack: How to Train Your Dragon*
Day 04 – Favourite classic movie: Rear Window
Day 05 – Movie that is a guilty pleasure: Geek Charming
Day 06 – Movie with the wittiest script: Monty Python and the Holy Grail
Day 07 – Favourite documentary: Bowling for Columbine
Day 08 – Favourite male character from any movie: Peter Parker from The Amazing Spider-Man
Day 09 – Favourite female character from any movie: Penny Lane from Almost Famous*
Day 10 – Favourite underrated movie: Sucker Punch
Day 11 – The most overrated movie: Avatar
Day 12 – Your favourite actress: Sarah Hyland
Day 13 – Your favourite actor: Dylan O’Brien 
Day 14 – The best movie you saw during the last year: Ender’s Game
Day 15 – Favourite romantic movie: About Time
Day 16 – Favourite teen movie: Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist*
Day 17 – Your favourite quote from any movie: “… They just want to hold your hand.”
Day 18 –Favourite movie series or trilogy: The Cornetto Series
Day 19 – Your favourite animated movie: How To Train Your Dragon
Day 20 – Your favourite movie from the 80s or 90s: Ghostbusters
Day 21 – Your favourite director: Joss Whedon
Day 22 – A movie that you know practically the whole script to: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone*
Day 23 – A book or television show you wish would be made into a movie: Adventure Time
Day 24 – A movie that makes you cry: Marley & Me
Day 25 – Your favourite comedy movie: 21 Jump Street*
Day 26 – Your favourite movie musical: The Sound of Music
Day 27 – Your favourite horror movie: Drag Me to Hell
Day 28 – Your favourite action/adventure movie: Alien: Resurrection
Day 29 – Your least favourite movie: Epic Movie
Day 30 – Your favourite movie: Pan’s Labyrinth 

*These days contain more than one film mentioned in the post

So, would I suggest this challenge to other bloggers? Yes, definitely. I wouldn’t mind if you changed up some of the days as well. If you do attempt this challenge in the future, send me a link to your blog in the comments so I can take a look at your choices. Also, I would suggest that you pair up with friends and family who have their own blogs to do this, as this really is a learning experience as well of all the things they’re interested in and the culture and memories they grew up with because of these movies.

Lastly, if you have any challenges that you would like to suggest, also put those down in the comment section.

Till next time!

cumuloq ❤

One thought on “Overview of the 30 Day Movie Challenge

Leave a Reply

