The “I Can’t Wait” List

1 silver lining - monday

Sometimes it’s easy to forget why we do what we do everyday, i.e. go to work, perform routines that we have the least bit of interest in. Sometimes it is up to us to put some meaning in it by picking up hobbies that make the difficult things and the bad things in life a little bit more bearable, i.e. reading, routines that make you happy to counter routines that make you sad – some controlled happiness, and some spontaneous happiness too. And sometimes the meaningless, bad things surprise you and become so much more fruitful than you previously thought they were worth.

Regardless, sometimes you need to make a list to remind you why you do these things, to not forget where you want to go and make those tiny steps to get there:

  1. I can’t wait to have an entire shelf in my own house where my books finally have a home. Currently their all in boxes and in different shelves around the house. I spent entire day once clearing space for them ’cause my parents threatened to throw them out or sell them away. I can’t wait to have an entire shelf of my own and be allowed to expand on it. I can’t wait to share my favourite books with my children.
  2. I can’t wait to have a shelf in my kitchen dedicated entirely to my favourite cereal. Actually, I can’t wait to just be able to do my own grocery shopping. I would love breakfast a thousand times more if there were a constant supply of cereal and milk to choose from.
  3. I can’t wait to organise a Saturday outing every week. I want children that are curious about the world around them and not fixated to a television – I’m not even sure whether I’ll even have a house that is centred around a television in the future. My parents have been too dedicated in sitting in front of television screens.
  4. I can’t wait to schedule monthly blackouts like the Michalaks family does. They’re a day when you turn off all the electricity and you just appreciate being with the people closest to you. I actually really appreciate what Steph and Hannah does for Grayson and how they make a conscious effort to be healthy and environmentally-friendly.
  5. I can’t wait to own a collection of board games so that when friends come over, there will always be something to do. I’ve already started a small collection now with Cards Against Humanity, Scrabble and Imaginiff. Agreed, it’s not a very cheap hobby – but it’s so rewarding to see a shelf of board games alongside a shelf of books.
  6. I can’t wait to find some time in my future to pursue a Masters Degree in literature. It’s a near goal that, when everything gets too monotonous or too much, I hope to find a way to be able to pursue my masters degree overseas. Maybe in the UK or US. But just a year for me to find myself and my passion once more.
  7. I can’t wait to have free reign over where I go in the world. I want to visit Santorini and France and Italy and Ireland and the United Kingdom and the United States and New Zealand and so many places that my parents will not allow me to go – yet.
IMG_18541

Source: hannahmaggs.co.uk

So there are a few things that I can’t wait for. I’ve been watching so many family vlogs on youtube – the previously mentioned Hannah Maggs, the Sacconejolies, Sprinkle of Glitter, Shaytards, and Sam and Nia – that I’ve been taking note of the things I love about their lives and the different things I’d like to apply to my own in the future.

I guess why I love to watch these videos is that it reminds me that the things that I do now eventually can lead up to a life similar to theirs with so many good things (not ignoring the fact that there will definitely be many bad things in the process and trials and tribulations). But life can eventually lead up to something wonderful.

Till next time!

cumuloq ❤

 

Leave a Reply

