30DDC Day 21: Favourite Location

Lake Silencio, 22nd April 2011, 5.02pm (Lone Rock Beach, Lake Powell, Utah, USA)

I found an awesome website for location guides of Doctor Who here for your perusing. It took me a little bit of clicking to come up with a location that struck me as absolutely breathtaking. (Didn’t want to have to go back to Vincent and the Doctor.)

For me, Doctor Who was never really much about the locations, ’cause I assumed that a majority was shot in the UK itself (which don’t get me wrong, is beautiful, but that doesn’t leave for much of a wide spectrum of choices.) When thinking of a location I considered Venice (Vampires in Venice), wherever they shot the Pompeii episode, and I also considered the beautiful castles they constantly visit.

But I think I ended up choosing Lake Powell because of the gorgeous colours that translate so well on camera: the deep turquoise (I’m a sucker for turquoise) and the contrasting golden sand. It’s almost like an alien world on Earth. Plus, it holds such significance in the Doctor Who plot line.

Tick tock goes the clock
And what then shall we see?
Tick tock until the day
That thou shalt marry me

Tick tock goes the clock
And all the years they fly
Tick tock and all too soon
You and I must die

Tick tock goes the clock
We laughed at fate and mourned her
Tick tock goes the clock
Even for the Doctor

Tick tock goes the clock
He cradled her and he rocked her
Tick tock goes the clock
Even for the Doctor…

– Cumuloq ❤

Leave a Reply

