Where My Childhood Idols Are At Now

2 childlike ideals - tuesday

So it has definitely been a while since I’ve posted in this topic. Almost to the point at which I considered just changing this day to something else. But, heck, I thought why not just keep to the nostalgia?

In the past, when I was a kid, one of my favourite things about the internet was filling in my favourite things lists. It sounds really stupid and trivial – but I just liked doing that when I was a kid. I guess it gave me some sense of understanding of myself. If I liked certain things then I could determine what kind of person I was, right?

So today I decided to revisit my old “favourite actresses” list and share why I liked them back then and include just a fun gif set of their “then and nows”.

1. Michelle Trachtenberg

Michelle Trachtenberg was on my favourite actresses list when I was younger ’cause of her lead role in Harriet the Spy. Thanks to that movie I wrote in my own diary when I was younger and spent a lot of time in my backyard pretending I was up to “spy business”. I liked to make believe the lives going on with my neighbours and friends.

Later on I loved her in Inspector Gadget as Penny and then on Buffy the Vampire Slayer as Buffy’s younger sister, Dawn. I’ve also seen her in EuroTrip and Ice Princess, and I caught part of her performance in Gossip Girl – before I stopped watching it. If anything, I can say she’s still doing really well for herself.

2. Sarah Michelle Gellar

Since I started off with one BTVS girl, I might as well go on with another. I’ll be honest and say that I probably shouldn’t have watched a majority of the movies Sarah Michelle Gellar was in when I was eleven – but I practically did anyways because she was there. This included I Know What You Did Last Summer, Cruel Intentions (Yeah, really shouldn’t have watched that back when) and The Grudge.

But mostly I knew her from Buffy. Buffy has honestly shaped a lot of my views in terms of what an action heroine should be like. She was smart, sarcastic, and generally kick-ass.

3. Drew Barrymore

Speaking of kick-ass, Drew Barrymore was another idol I had when I was a kid and I honestly watched so many shows she was in which include E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial, The Wedding Singer, Ever After and Charlie’s Angels.

Honestly, I had her as an instant favourite in so many of my favourite lists. To me she was the ideal anti-princess, she emoted so well in her films and her characters always stood up for what they believed in (take note that when I say this, I’m referring to the latter three movies and not E.T.)

4. Christina Ricci

Christina Ricci was like a staple diet among all the children movies I watched when I was a kid, so it is almost inevitable that she is in this list and was one of my favourite actresses at the time. When I was young I just thought she was beautiful and she had this dark Gothic vibe to her that was just so intriguing.

Movies I used to devour with her in it included The Addams Family, Casper, That Darn Cat and Sleepy Hollow.

5. Hilary Duff

I think it’s inevitable that I finish this list with her. Hilary Duff was the ultimate idol when I was a kid. Before Miley Cyrus and Selena Gomez, there was Hilary Duff. I bought all of her albums – on cassettes at the time, memorised all the lyrics and I tried to create my wardrobe around her style in the movies.

The list of Hilary Duff movies I’ve watched is pretty extensive (so I won’t put links to them here and let you Google any unknowns yourself): Casper Meets Wendy, Cadet Kelly, Agent Cody Banks, The Lizzie McGuire Movie, Cheaper by the Dozen, A Cinderella Story, Raise Your Voice, The Perfect Man, Cheaper by the Dozen 2, and (a very random) Beauty & the Briefcase.

Now that they’ve been listed, my two cents: personally I think they’ve done pretty well for themselves; they’ve all branched into different projects that I’m not really interested in. But it’s kind of nice to see them grow from how I remembered them when I was a kid. I guess you can also kind of see the type of kid I was in the past from the people I used to like back then.

So, maybe next week (or next time – no promises) I’ll tackle my old favourite actor list?

Till next time,

cumuloq ❤

6 thoughts on “Where My Childhood Idols Are At Now

  1. Did you catch Michelle Trachtenberg on Criminal Minds as Diane Turner in 2013’s episode Zugzwang? She was awesome and crazy!
    Drew Barrymore remains to this day one of my favourite actresses.
    I had never heard of Beauty & the Briefcase, sooo I obviously Googled it. It sounds interesting haha, it also has Michael McMillian from True Blood in it so I would probably watch it to see him do something different 🙂

    • No I haven’t! She seems to be in a lot of criminal dramas lately, but I typically don’t watch those. Beauty & the Briefcase is a decent junk movie, but nothing too worthy of your time. If you’re nostalgic for Hilary Duff though and want to see a movie where she is older, you can check it out.

  2. Oh, my goodness, this is bringing up some nostalgia a bit. XD I think I had Harriet the Spy on VHS when I was a kid, but now the only VHS tape I own is Finding Nemo… not that I actually own a VCR (I had to look “VCR” up because it’s been so long since I’ve had one and I couldn’t remember the name of it, lol).

    That’s so cool that you had Hilary Duff’s albums on cassette! :O I only have one of her albums, but I really loved her when I was younger. I remember my mom recording her sweet sixteen birthday bash thing for me when I was super young, again, on VHS. XD

    • For Harriet the Spy, I’m pretty sure I borrowed it from my local blockbusters like five times. Was in love with it. And yes! I actually think I watched Hilary Duff’s Sweet Sixteen too. 😀

Leave a Reply

