Poem: have a heart

6 inklings - saturday

It’s been a while since I’ve created a poem that rhymes so completely as the one I just wrote below. Lately I’ve stuck with free verse because it (duh) gives me so much freedom. But, for me, there was always something so appealing and seductive about a poem that rhymed so perfectly and completely. I’m not so sure whether this tiny poem fits both criteria – but it’s something.

is my heart an anchor
where this sinking feeling lies?
or venom like molasses
coated over despondent sighs –
this muted cry of ravens
in a valley in the dusk
like those who, with brittled fingertips,
pluck away the husk
the wooded shavings whispered
off the workbench, without thought
my heart was never mine
if it was sold, and never bought.

– cumuloq ❤

Leave a Reply

