Why a good book is a secret door – Mac Barnett

Childhood is surreal. Why shouldn’t children’s books be? In this whimsical talk, award-winning author Mac Barnett speaks about writing that escapes the page, art as a doorway to wonder — and what real kids say to a fictional whale.

Hey there!

I thought I’d share this video with you guys ’cause I know many out there, like me, hope that one day we’ll be great writers or poets. Often times, we do it for ourselves, we do it to express ourselves more clearly and be able to share our fictional and non-fictional experiences and adventures with others. Sometimes, I personally get lost in the idea that I want to share a story that I forget who I’m writing my stories for. I’ve written before of why I write. Often times it’s to find that small space between the real and the make-believe. During that time I wrote that post, I didn’t quite consider who I would be writing for, that there would be readers out there who might respond to a story that I want to write and want to understand themselves through the spaces in-between the everyday and the out-of-the-ordinary.

This video made me realise this more concretely. It’s both entertaining and inspiring. So if you have a seventeen-minutes to spare, say while you’re eating your lunch, I really hope you watch it. It made me both smile and go ‘aww’. Mac Barnett is a wonderful speaker, and even though I’ve never read any of his books (esp. since he writes for children – which is something I don’t explore much of nowadays) I can see that he is trying to do something enchanting with a child’s imagination.

Till next time!

cumuloq ❤

Leave a Reply

