A Very Sleepy Update: NaNoWriMo and Sunburns

Hey guys!

Yes, it’s definitely been a while. It’s 2.20am right now where I’m at and I feel absolutely exhausted ’cause I just had a full day of picnicking and bookshop browsing. I came back absolutely sunburnt on my upper forearms and my thighs. I’m more fascinated than in pain, honestly. It’s been a while since I’ve spent that long in the sun – and outdoors (oh dear I sound so pathetic right now) that it was amazing how I turned immediately pink. But by tomorrow I’m sure it’ll settle to a nice golden brown – I can’t believe I’m talking about myself as though I’m roasted turkey. I guess at 2.20am I get hungry too.

So, what I should be doing right now: What I should be doing right now is sleeping. But, another thing I probably should be doing is continuing with my novel for National Novel Writing Month.

This year is the first year that I’m actually taking part in it, and so far it’s been both a trying and eye-opening experience. It’s made me fall back to one of my old loves which was supposed to be writing. I always intended to just write. But over the years there are so many secondary distractions, other things that are so much easier to love and do and require so much less effort. Forcing myself to sit down and write around 1.6k words every day has been so trying on me. There are bouts of three day periods where I literally do not write anything for my novel. And then there are those amazing moments where my brain and my hands seem to become best friends with once another again and I just vomit 4k words on my Word Doc.

Why am I not writing right now? I realise that I’ve chosen a very difficult genre for me to write. Well, maybe not ‘genre’ per say, but subject matter. The novel I’m currently working on verges between young adult and horror. Well, it has enough horror elements to freak me out every now and then. And the thing is that I love to write at this particular time of the night, which is not well-suited for someone with an overactive imagination. So I’ve taken a break from writing it to just write a quick update here.

And I realise that up to this point in time I may be just typing out things that you might not be entirely interested in – but I guess that’s okay, because I just need something to write here and this is just how my life has been lately.

I’ve been contemplating on whether to buy a PS4 on the Black Friday Sales on Amazon.com (I curse one of my course mates for bringing up the sale and the idea of splurging my money on a console when I’m already broke now from buying books today). The games tempting me to it are naturally Dragon Age: Inquisition, Destiny and, maybe, Far Cry 4 (at the time being). Mostly because I just finished Portal 2 on Single Mode and am bored now with my life, which again, shouldn’t be the case cause I have a novel to finish by the end of this month.

My school is mostly over, except for one random blog post I need to make by the end of this week. I can feel the Christmas festivities slowly creeping into my veins. I’ve already clicked on my old Christmas Playlist on Youtube randomly every now and then, adding songs here and there as they crop up. I’m deliberating on whether to do Reddit’s Secret Santa. I’m deliberating on whether to go for a second Yellowcard concert. Many things that require much money.

I haven’t been reading much lately. I pretty much finished Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book and stopped reading for the time being. Really good book, by the way. I kind of regretted going to Neverwhere after reading Ocean at the End of the Lane. It really should have been The Graveyard Book. The two are more similar. I feel like I’m on a Gaiman-hype. My boyfriend recently got me a signed copy of Coraline (if you want one too I believe there are still available copies on Book Depository). I might read Coraline next then.

Oh, and mentioning Book Depository, I did something impulsive and pre-ordered Zoe Sugg’s book Girl Online, and I wonder when my copy will be shipped over. Should really double-check on stuff like this. It’s the first time I’ve ever actually “pre-ordered” something. Exciting.

And now I think I’ve exhausted everything I really want to say for now. That’s my life at the moment: sunburns, NaNoWriMo, Black Friday temptations and Neil Gaiman obsessions.

Till next time!

cumuloq ❤

Leave a Reply

