30DSC Day 08: Favourite album

Hi there everyone,

So we move on to day 8 of the 30 Day Song Challenge. Today is ‘favourite album’ (duh, it’s in the title). This one was honestly disgustingly hard to choose from, mostly because different albums suit me for different moods.

Ones that went in the list of possible choices included Green Day’s narrative concept album, American Idiot, the first album I got from my favourite band, Ocean Avenue, heck, even Hilary Duff’s self-titled album which was something I listened to non-stop when I was a teenager and is wildly underrated (in my opinion), and several other pop rock related albums. I give them their due reference here (Mmhmm by Relient K, Nothing is Sound by Switchfoot, Enema of the State by blink182, The Black Parade by My Chemical Romance, Louder Now by Taking Back Sunday).

Sorry guys, the one I choose as my favourite just has to be Fall Out boy’s From Under the Cork Tree (Youtube link here).

fromunderthecorktreeaWhy this album? Firstly, I’ve listened to a lot of albums in my teenage years. A lot. Because it was just so easy and cheap to buy. I have a lot of cassette versions of bands and artists just wasting away with dust now. And, out of all the albums I’ve listened to, From Under the Cork Tree is just one of the most well-rounded albums. There is commitment throughout the album at the type of style it seeks to be. Each song, yes, is an individual song, but when put together they create a complete whole. And I feel like this is what an album should be like. It’s an incredible anthem of what it feels like being a teenager lost and confused about their lives and love.

I also feel that it is incredibly underrated because of the time it came out. There were just a lot of pop punk bands during that time. And I admit that I cheated on a lot of bands. But if this album were released today, I bet it would have gotten the critical reception it deserved.

Pete Wentz’s lyrics on every song is incredible. Let me spam them here. I can list off lines from each of their songs and you’d think that it came from a contemporary poet. Heck, even the song titles are brilliant:

1.

Brothers and sisters, yeah, put these words down
Into your notebook (spit lines like these)
We’re friends when you’re on your knees
Make them dance like we were shooting their feet – “Our Lawyer Made Us Change the Name of This Song So We Wouldn’t Get Sued”

2.

Sometimes I just want to know what it’s like to be you
We’re making out inside crashed cars
We’re sleeping through all our memories
I used to waste my time dreaming of being alive (now I only waste it dreaming of you) – “Of All the Gin Jounts in All the World”

3.

She says she’s no good with words but I’m worse
Barely stuttered out “A joke of a romantic”, or just stuck to my tongue
Weighed down with words too over-dramatic
Tonight it’s “It can’t get much worse”
Vs. “No one should ever feel like…” – “Dance, Dance”

4.

I’ve been dying to tell you anything you want to hear
Cause that’s just who I am this week
Lie in the grass, next to the mausoleum
I’m just a notch in your bedpost
But you’re just a line in a song – “Sugar, We’re Goin Down”

5.

So wear me like a locket around your throat.
I’ll weigh you down.
I’ll watch you choke.
You look so good in blue. – “Nobody Puts Baby in the Corner”

6.

Joke me something awful just like kisses on the necks of “best friends”
We’re the kids who feel like dead ends
And I want to be known for my hits, not just my misses
I took a shot and didn’t even come close
At trust and love and hope
And the poets are just kids who didn’t make it
Who never had it at all – “I’ve Got A Dark Alley and a Bad Idea That Says You Should Shut Your Mouth (Summer Song)”

7.

I’m sleeping my way out of this one
With anyone who will lie down
I’ll be stuck fixated on one star
When the world is crashing down – “7 Minutes in Heaven (Ataven Halen)”

8.

We’re traveled like gypsies
Only with worse luck and far less gold
We’re the kids you used to love
But then we grew old
We’re the lifers here till the bitter end
Condemned from the start
Ashamed of the way
The songs and the words own the beating of our hearts – “Sophomore Slump or Comeback of the Year”

9.

They say, “You want a war? You’ve got a war.”
But who are you fighting for?
The tides out, the ship’s run aground
We drown traitors in shallow water – “Champagne For My Real Friends, Real Pain For My Sham Friends”

10.

They call kids like us vicious and carved out of stone
But for what we’ve become, we just feel more alone
Always weigh what I’ve lost against what I left
Progress report: I am missing you to death – “”I Slept With Someone In Fall Out Boy And All I Got Was This Stupid Song Written About Me”

11.

Write me off, give up on me
‘Cause darling, what did you expect?
I’m just off a lost cause
A long shot, don’t even take this bet

You can make all the moves, you can aim all the spotlights
Get all the sighs and the moans just right – “A Little Less Sixteen Candles, A Little More ‘Touch Me'”

12.

From day one I talked about getting out
But not forgetting about
How my worst fears are letting out
He said why put a new address
On the same old loneliness
When breathing just passes the time – “Get Busy Living Or Get Busy Dying (Do Your Part To Save The Scene And Stop Going To Shows)”

13.

To the “love”, I left my conscience pressed
Between the pages of the Bible in the drawer
“What did it ever do for me” I say
It never calls me when I’m down
Love never wanted me – “XO”

And I think after writing this post, I’ve listened to this album on repeat thrice. It’s just so good! Gah. My favourite songs from this album would probably include track 6 “I’ve Got a Dark Alley and a Bad Idea …”, track 8 “Sophomore Slump or Comeback of the Year”, track 11 “A Little Less Sixteen Candles, A Little More ‘Touch Me'”, and track 12 “Get Busy Living Or Get Busy Dying …”. I mean, come on, they made a vampire video practically before vampires became cool. And it has Panic At the Disco and The Academy Is … in it.

And, the icing on the cake, just like how I got to watch my favourite band live, I got to see Fall Out Boy perform the songs from this album live to – my second favourite concert ever. All the songs are just electrifying in concert. All of them.

Last but not least, head over to Rhey of Sunshine’s blog to see her favourite album. I’ll see you guys tomorrow where I share with you the gig or act I want to see live.

Till then!

cumuloq ❤

2 thoughts on “30DSC Day 08: Favourite album

Leave a Reply

