30DSC Day 11: Favourite song from a video game

Hi everyone!

I’m back for another 30 Day Song Challenge. For those who haven’t been following, I’ve been doing this challenge for a while now – eleven days to be exact (duh) – and I’ve been doing it alongside Rhey of Sunshine. So if you have a few seconds, go check out her blog!

Now, today’s challenge is one pretty close to my heart. And I honestly had a really hard time choosing which songs to showcase. And to be honest when I started writing this I had intended to showcase another song from the one I am going to.

I was going to tell you guys that it was the soundtrack for Emotion 98.3 from Grand Theft Auto Vice City, my most nostalgic songs being Foreigner’s “Waiting for a Girl Like You”, REO Speedwagon’s “Keep on Loving You”, Cutting Crew’s “(I Just) Died in Your Arms Tonight” and Mr. Mister’s “Broken Wings”. I had intended to write all this out in a long post. The reason why I wanted to put this as my favourite video game songs was that the game really just exposed me to these songs when I was younger and it was a thing for me and my brother to sing this while driving a helicopter to the edge of the world.

But I realise it would be pretty much lying to say that it was my favourite. ‘Cause my favourite now has such a deep-seated love in my heart. For me it is …

Everything’s Alright – Laura Shigihara from the game, To the Moon

Why this song? Because of when it’s played in the video game. And possibly because it was the only time a song made me cry in a video game. And not cry from frustration at how I could not pass a level, but because of how amazingly the plot developed. Yes, one of the few games driven so strongly on plot. And it seems the more I listen to it, and the more I understand the plot of the game, and the small details, certain parts of the lyrics make more and more sense.

I actually think I’ve shared this song before, but I would honestly share it again and again because of how beautiful it is. And, if you have 4-5 hours to kill in one shot, I suggest getting the movie and playing through it. I think it’s only then that you’ll understand how absolutely heartbreaking this song is.

Till next time,

cumuloq ❤

Leave a Reply

