30DSC Day 18: Album you found accidentally and love

Hi everybody!

I feel like any time I choose to buy a new album it’s pretty much a risk. ‘Cause I’m not guaranteed to know all the songs beforehand and it’s especially the case for a new artist or band because I’m not so sure whether one single is indicative of what their entire style is like. Sometimes I get pleasantly surprised and sometimes disappointedly bored.

I believe the biggest risks I took when I was finding albums during my teen years was when I was an avid and devoted subscriber of a magazine called Alternate Press. I would read of great bands in the review or in their interviews in the magazine and consider whether to check them out.

So this is how I came around to finding the band, Head Automatica, who originate from Long Island, New York and whose music consists of catchy pop rock melodies.

I bought their album, Popaganda, and just ended up listening to it for an entire year on the bus to school.

  1. Graduation Day” – 3:42
  2. Laughing at You” – 2:45
  3. Lying Through Your Teeth” – 3:29
  4. Nowhere Fast” – 3:00
  5. Scandalous” – 4:10
  6. Curious” – 2:43
  7. God” – 3:01
  8. Shot in the Back (The Platypus)” – 3:43
  9. Million Dollar Decision” – 4:04
  10. “She’s Not It” – 3:29
  11. Egyptian Musk” – 3:53
  12. Cannibal Girl” – 3:10
  13. K HORSE” – 4:48
  14. Beating Heart Baby” – 3:26

My favourites from the album would probably be track 1, 7 and 14. I believe the reason why I ended up choosing the Head Automatica album randomly was because I was looking for a band that sounded quite similar to Taking Back Sunday, and the magazine led me to Head Automatica. I don’t regret it at all though. They were the songs I totally needed and loved singing along to at that time of my life.

So, last but not least, as usual, check out Rhey of Sunshine’s blog for the album she randomly listened to and loved. And I’ll see you tomorrow for more music madness.

Take care, guys!

cumuloq ❤

Leave a Reply

