30DSC Day 20: Song I want to play at my wedding

Hey there everyone,

So I just woke up from two naps – in a row – as I am typing this (on the day I am posting this). Today I have just been drained of energy and I’ve just been putting off doing this post. I am also extremely distracted, ’cause I am watching Zoella’s vlog simultaneously – though I realise that I am not good at multitasking when I’ve just woken up. A sneaky behind-the-scenes shot for you:

BTS Zoella and Blog

You can also see that I’m reluctant to change to the new WordPress layout. I switched it to the new one, was utterly confused, and changed back.

Anyway, enough of my situation, more of the 30 Day Song Challenge. Let me start by reminding you guys to check over at Rhey of Sunshine for her side of the challenge. We’re doing it simultaneously so you get the best of both worlds. So if you feel like my style of music is not for you – which is perfectly okay – you can go over to her side and check out the songs she chooses!

So today’s challenge is a song I would play at my wedding. To be honest I really haven’t thought too much about it, i.e. what I would want at my wedding. I feel like my list of things I don’t want is a lot longer than a list of things I want. For instance, I don’t want corny, I don’t want cliche, I don’t want a lot of glitter and gold and glitz. I definitely do not want Bruno Mars’s “Marry You” to be playing there.

If there is anything I have thought through a lot, it’s the songs I want at my wedding. Because somehow I feel – maybe as a literature major – that the words in lyrics are incredibly important to convey the type of marriage that you want with someone else.

So, as usual, I am not one to choose just one song, here is a list (from a playlist of my own) of songs I would approve at my wedding:

Endlessly by The Cab

I think my favourite verse from this song is this one:

There’s a house on the hill,
with a view of the town,
and I know how you adore it.
So I’ll work everyday,
through the sun, and the rain,
until I can afford it.

What I like about this song is that it stresses on hard work. And that it takes hard work to make something worthwhile. I also love the energy behind it. Maybe it’s just me, but a lot of songs at wedding receptions just make me feel like falling asleep. Yes, those songs are important – the ones with the slower melodies, but I need the playlist to start off with something that tells stories and have some vivacity.

With You by TryHardNinja and Lindee Link

Again, another lighthearted and amusing song that stresses on pressing on together. And, yes, there are Minecraft references in this one because it just so happens to be from TryHardNinja. But I feel like they are subtle enough to be overlooked.

Photograph by Ed Sheeran

Mellowing down a bit now – I think when people think of Ed Sheeran and wedding songs lately, the song that comes up is “Thinking Out Loud”. Agreed it is a beautiful song for a wedding, but somehow I am more drawn to this one. Maybe it’s in the lyrics again. “Thinking Out Loud” has lyrics that are about expressing love outwards – showing it: “Kiss me under the light of a thousand stars” but “Photograph” is inwards, “Inside the pages you just hold me”. And again, I stress that lyrics are the ones guiding me into choosing these songs.

Faithfully Cover by Boyce Avenue

And lastly, this one. Yes it’s a slow song – but it just has to be in here because it’s our song. ❤

So, that’s a little preview in the playlist that I have accumulated over the past few years. The other songs are along the lines of this, e.g. “Honeydukes” by Joey Richter and Mary Kate Wiles, “Bright” by Echosmith, “Ours” by Taylor Swift, “Bring Me the Night” by Sam Tsui and Kina Grannis. And there are also a few slow songs in the mix, which include “A Thousand Years Pt 2” by Christina Perri ft. Steve Kazee and “I’ll Be” by Edwin McCain.

But I feel like if I put it all in then this will be a very long blog post.

So that’s all the happy songs for today! Tomorrow will be the absolute opposite – a song I would like to play at my funeral *knock on wood*. Come back tomorrow for that!

Till then!

cumuloq ❤

Leave a Reply

