30DSC Day 22: Song that reminds me of a specific event

Hey everyone!

I love how ironically unspecific this challenge is. Which specific event? So I decided to take a two moments with two songs respectively that remind me of those times.

So here are my choices:

That Summer Fling – “Thunder” by Boys Like Girls

I remember having this playlist in my phone that had three Boys Like Girls songs. One was “Hero/Heroine”, another was “The Great Escape” and the last one was “Thunder”. This song reminds me of terrible choices in movies (and boys), of walking down the beach and talking about family and being scared of heights and being lifted up anyway.

It reminds me of disconnect and not being ready for someone else when I wasn’t even accepting of myself. It reminds of a spark that was there and then gone and realising at the end of it that there could have been something there – but it wasn’t love. But, regardless, every time I listen to this song, it takes me back to that time. And then I just shake my head at how stupid it was and move on.

First Year in Uni – “Vanilla Twilight” by Owl City

I was really uncomfortable about staying in hall without knowing who my roommate may be. I didn’t know whether I would like the idea of communal bathrooms, of having to do my own laundry, of potentially eating lunches and dinners alone. So when all the camps were over and Rhey of Sunshine came up to me and asked whether I had a roommate and whether I wanted to share a room with her. I was both relieved and nervous.

A few months in though and it turned out to be one of the best decisions of my life. I remember us buying fairy lights during Christmas and Christmas decorations for our room. And we hung them up and turned them on and we would lie in our beds and listen to Owl City.

So, go check out Rhey of Sunshine’s blog to see which songs she chose for which moments in her life. And I’ll catch you tomorrow for more 30DSCs.

Till then!

cumuloq ❤

One thought on “30DSC Day 22: Song that reminds me of a specific event

Leave a Reply

