30DSC Day 23: Favourite mainstream song

Hi everyone,

So it’s only a week more of the 30 Day Song Challenge left. How time has passed! I remember I was in the middle of this, stuck on day 13 of my favourite song from a TV series, and thinking how gruelling it was. But I really felt like I’ve learnt a lot about my musical tastes through this. Once again, go check out Rhey of Sunshine’s blog for her side of the challenge. I’ve really liked some of her choices so far and am learning a lot more of what type of music she goes for.

So today is for my favourite mainstream song. I have a lot really. So this is my current favourite one that I’ve been listening to on repeat …

“Shut Up and Dance” by Walk the Moon

The first time I listened to it was through a cover done by Devin and Kyle a la Kurt Hugo Schneider and at first I just considered it an ordinary cover of a song I’ve never heard of before. But for some reason there was something absolutely catchy about the chorus that made me replay it again – and again. And I think the next time I heard the song was on the Ellen show and then I had to look up the music video – and then I was in love. The girl they cast for it was perfect, the ridiculous dance moves and awkward moments were perfect. It was just a really really catchy song.

This band reminds me of Hellogoodbye meets Cobra Starships meets The Academy Is. And this is such a feel good song. If I could drive, I’d have it playing constantly in my stereos. Plus I can’t pass up a singer with amazing dimples. I just have to say that.

So yeah, honestly when it comes to favourite mainstream song it changes all the time. And this is my current favourite one. I don’t think I have an all-time favourite .. it would just end up being a long list of songs “during that moment”.

So I’ll catch you tomorrow for a real fun challenge.

Till then!

cumuloq ❤

Leave a Reply

