30DSC Day 25: Favourite foreign language song

Hi everyone!

So we’re in the last few days of the 30 Day Song Challenge and I really hope that you have enjoyed it so far – me taking you on my music journey. It’s really been a long trek, riddled with ignominy. Today’s challenge really does push the geographical boundaries of my musical tastes. Thankfully I had a phase in which I was absolutely in love with this Canadian singer, Cœur de pirate or Béatrice Martin.

I think I’ve actually shared her songs before on this blog or in my previous outdated blog.

My favourite foreign language song comes from them …

“Comme Des Enfants”

Honestly, I love lyrics in French. I don’t know why. I feel like I’ve heard too much of the same monotonous lyrics in love songs in English again and again that French is suddenly refreshing.

Alors tu vois, comme tout se mêle
Et du cœur à tes lèvres, je deviens ton casse-tête
Ton rire me crie, de te lâcher
Avant de perdre prise, et d’abandonner
Car je ne t’en demanderai jamais autant
Déjà que tu me traites, comme un grand enfant
Et nous n’avons plus rien, à risquer
À part nos vies qu’on laisse de coté

Roughly translated to …

So you see, as everything gets mixed
And from the heart to your lips, I become your puzzle
Your laughing screams I should let you go
Before losing grip and giving up
’cause I will never ask that much of you
You already treat me like a big child
And we don’t have anything left to risk
Apart from our lives we leave beside

Plus, Béatrice’s voice is just heaven, especially when it’s just her singing with her piano, and I feel like even though she is singing in French I can feel the emotions she’s trying to communicate. And now I feel like I’m hijacking this post with my favourite foreign singer rather than foreign song. But you just listen to her singing, Francis (embedding disabled) and you can just hear how wonderfully melodic her voice is.

Another French song I want to share, that comes from a beautifully crafted movie, Jack et la mécanique du coeur (Jack and the Cuckoo-Clock Heart), is “Flamme À Lunettes” (Flame With Glasses) by Dionysos (again embedding disabled).

The English version goes like this … and you can already see how much more poetic these lyrics appear to me than Disney songs.

Acacia: My vision’s not quite right
but glasses make me look a sight
Enough to give the world a fright
Like a sprite
Wearing specs

Jack: oh, fiery little sprite
Conflagration in the night
Don’t play games with your sights
If it leaves you in the dark

Acacia: I prefer life all a blur
I forget to wear my glasses
When I sing or share caresses
It feels good to close my eyes

So, there, I’ve shared my unpublished love for French songs. I think my second favourite foreign language for songs is possibly Japanese. Again, it’s because of how gorgeous it sounds.

Lastly, do check out Rhey of Sunshine’s blog for her favourite foreign language song. I’m sure she’ll have some lovely other language to introduce you to! And I’ll catch you tomorrow for my favourite sad song.

Till next time,

cumuloq ❤

One thought on “30DSC Day 25: Favourite foreign language song

Leave a Reply

