30DPC Day 3: Be any superhero and have super powers …

3. If you could be any superhero and have super powers, which one would you like to have and why?

I’m not sure why, but I’m incredibly adverse to the idea of having super powers. At least in the most obvious sense. Mostly because I feel like the world today is so transparent that being above average in an abnormal way is so dangerous.

I feel like the proverbial “with great power comes great responsibility” line (in actual fact:”…with great power there must also come — great responsibility!“) will be pegged upon me if I were to ever demonstrate my super powers. Society will look upon me to achieve some form of super human greatness. For all the superhero movies that have arisen from Hollywood, is it ironic that I fear any notion of being one of them?

sherlock-patternSo, if there were any super powers that I would be thrust upon, it would most likely be enhanced senses and pattern sense. I kind of lean towards the more probably superpowers as opposed to the more flamboyant ones.

“We know there are colours in the spectrum untranslatable to our eyes; sounds beyond the range of our hearing; sensations beyond the tolerance of taste or touch. What else is there that we might be missing? Could it be that we, ourselves, only ever really experience the mere gist of our own lives?

(attrib: F.L. Vanderson)”
Mort W. Lumsden, Citations: A Brief Anthology

I would love to be able to see further and in more colours than the average human being – maybe to the point of dimensional vision. I would love to be able to smell as well as the African Elephant. I would love to be able to hear as well as the greater wax moth. And with all these senses I want to be able to discover patterns in society and nature that no one may ever discover today or in the future – but no one will believe me because my scientific evidences will be beyond the realm of human possibility.

As I choose these powers, I wonder whether it is a good idea to have enhanced faculties. Maybe it will also be a burden to be able to feel, hear and see so many things. That one day it may become too much. I’ll hear what is not around me and grow mad. I’ll see too many things at once and grow blind. I’ll be overwhelmed by knowledge only known to myself and grow skeptical of the world as everyone denies my findings.

But – I think of all the other ways to go in terms of super powers and somehow I am okay with that.

It’ll make for a good superhero story:

A girl who grows up with too many senses, who is able to hear, see, smell, taste and touch things others cannot. Who writes stories after stories, drawings after drawings of what she discovers – creates art beyond human comprehension – is thought of as insane, wild yet creative – and somehow irrationally logical. Who grows mad in her own illusions, overwhelmed by the senses. And finally passes through, with the aid of her madness, to another dimension. And one day scientists find probable equations and patterns in her works. And discover new theories of time-and-space travel. And name it after her. And with her abilities, they pathe a gateway to an unknown and scary future world.

That would be my superhero story. I should copyright that.

Till next time,

cumuloq ❤

One thought on “30DPC Day 3: Be any superhero and have super powers …

  1. I used to always say I would choose to be able to be invisible but recently I have decided if I could have any superpower it would be teleportation imagine just waking up and thinking that today you wanted to go see a friend at the other side of the world and not having to think about cost, passports, flights etc you could just decide to go and be there, that would be cool.

Leave a Reply

