30DPC Day 5: Routine or spontaneity …

5. What are you more comfortable with: routine or spontaneity?

“We all have our routines,” he said softly.”But they must have a purpose and provide an outcome that we can see and take some comfort from, or else they have no use at all. Without that, they are like the endless pacings of a caged animal. If they are not madness itself, then they are a prelude to it.”
John Connolly, The Book of Lost Things

I felt like I needed to quote this. Like, really need to quote this for this question. Because this is the last book I read, and I really haven’t read any other book in such a long time and this quote just stuck to me. In this quote, the woodcutter is referring to the protagonist’s senseless OCD routines which he does to remember his mother. I can’t recall exactly what routines they were, but something along the lines of having to tap the doorknob a specific number of times before entering the room.

I like routine, a lot. I am definitely the type of person who is more comfortable with routines and who will get agitated if I have to irrationally change my routine. I like things done a certain way – and hopefully with good reason behind it.

But I also don’t really believe that being comfortable with routines – like the previous question – does not mean that I am incapable of being spontaneous as well. Some routines are just downright dull and monotonous and have little to no sense of function or purpose to me. And during those routines I would much rather prefer some adrenalin and spontaneity.

I guess this all becomes a grand narrative towards the second question for this challenge – what I’m most grateful for – and that is dichotomies and the complex bits and pieces in between those dichotomies. Without routines, you would not be grateful for spontaneous moments where you drop everything and do something new. But it is also with those high energy moments that you learn to appreciate the simplicity and beauty of a routine done well. And – at the same time – you can have both. You can have a grand adventure and create routines within them, like writing in your journal all the wonderful things you’ve done.

At the end of the day it’s about creating meaningful routines for spontaneous moments. And creating spontaneous moments out of meaningful routines.

Last but not least, do check out Rhey of Sunshine’s blog for her answer to this question. And catch this blog tomorrow for the next question!

Till next time,

cumuloq ❤

Leave a Reply

