30DPC Day 10: Making decisions …

10. Decisions are being made right now.  The question is:  Are you making them for yourself, or are you letting others make them for you?

Okay, so this one’s a bit late. I think that if you take this question at surface value it seems really pointless. If you think you’re a follower and that everything currently is going so fast-paced and that you’re just floating through life then you’ll probably say, “Oh, I don’t feel like I’m making decisions for myself, everyone is making them for me.” And if you feel like you’re taking charge than you’ll say the latter.

So if you were to ask me on the surface whether I am currently making decisions for myself or letting others make the decisions for me, I would say that at this point in time, I feel like I am actually making a lot of decisions for myself. I honestly feel very blessed that I am in the profession I currently am – regardless of certain drawbacks. I am blessed to choose the people I want to be around and the people I love. I am blessed that I am able to choose a lot of what I want to do with my “spare” time.

But on a more spiritual and philosophical level, I feel this question goes into more free will vs. deterministic territory. Are we making decisions or do other forces out of our control already have our path determined? I feel like this question has these connotations when it begins with the sentence “Decisions are being made right now”. The implicit question here is – who? Who is making these decisions? What theology do you subscribe to? And in this theology are there “greater forces” making choices for you? Do you have agency?

Many theologies which have omnipresent gods have the natural tendency to be incompatible to the idea of free will. It is a paradox. Because if a god is all-seeing and all-knowing, regardless of what you choose, he or she will already know the outcome – meaning your outcome is fixed. This negates the idea of freedom of choice, because whatever you’ve chosen is already determined by them.

Theologians try to circumvent this apparent paradox by considering the laws of time and that, take for instance, Christianity’s open theism, God does not exist as a linear God. He, hence, does not control what happens to you in the future, he simply can see it.

Personally, I feel like I don’t know enough of the world to answer this philosophical part of the question. I don’t know what the answer is. But I would like to think that, since I am a Christian, God has seen the many routes I may take in my future and that I still have the freedom to choose these paths with His guidance. It’s complicated – but I hope it makes some sense.

To ponder more on this question, head over to Rhey of Sunshine’s blog for her answer.

Till next time,

cumuloq ❤

Leave a Reply

