30DPC Day 17: What I would uninvent …

17. If you could uninvent something, what would it be?

I realise I’m pretty behind on this. Just recovering from the vacation I took. Both emotionally and physically drained.

If there was something I could uninvent – sorry Mark Zuckerberg – it would be Facebook. Yes, I would uninvent Facebook because I honestly observe more negatives than positives from it. Firstly it has made it so much easier for people you don’t want rather than do to survey your life. It leaves a false sense of accomplishment. And also a false sense of competition.

Maybe it’s me and my overly-sensitive personality peeking through, but whenever I see people going on vacations or people showing off what they just bought, I just feel like closing Facebook. I think people who are overly obsessed with it are not really living a life anymore.

I think my second option would be to get rid of Whatsapp. I only just started using it this year, and I feel like I’ve never used my regular SMSes ever since. And it’s also not for the best either. I don’t think I’ll get over the fact that I can get bombarded by thousands of messages. And that I can be so easily monitored as to whether I read those messages either.

So a lot of things I’d uninvent would be social media platforms that just breed this sense of materialism and self-glorification that I just want to run away from.

But what would you uninvent? Let me know.

Till the next post,

cumuloq ❤

Leave a Reply

