Things to Make the Week Bearable

1 silver lining - monday

Hey guys,

Yes, yes, it’s been a while since I’ve written anything on this blog. It seems like the past few days just have been a series of ups and – well, who am I kidding – it’s just been a load of downs. I think even my dreams have been reflective of how psychotic my mind has been. Thankfully I’m somehow so tolerating of bad dreams that I’ve been more fascinated by what warped visions my brain can conjure up, as opposed to shriveling under my covers in fear.

And such dreams so happen to contain wall-and-ceiling crawling apparitions bathing me in voodoo curses, to shark-infested killer waves staining the seas blood red, peppering body parts all over the surface, to blood-thirsty hitmen grabbing me by the throat unexpectedly, to high precarious staircases that I’m forced to navigate to shipwrecks and more drowning in shark-infested waters.

Psychoanalyse that, why don’t you.

But, among all the bad, I think this week I’m finally reaching the light at the end of the tunnel. Please let it not be a dud.

So here are a few wonderful things that have made my life a lot better:

1. The Lizzie Bennett Diaries

LBD

Photo credit: larkable.com

So yes, let’s address the obvious thing here, I’m slow on the bandwagon. Exactly two to three years slow. But better late than never, I suppose. I was never a fan of 19th century literature such as that of Jane Austen or the Bronte sisters, so please excuse me with this very reason as to why I never watched this Youtube series (despite hearing so many snippets about it from random friends).

If you too have not heard of it (*high five*) it is a Web series that does a wonderful job at adapting Austen’s novel, Pride and Prejudice for the modern audience.

While it was initially difficult for me to fall in love with Lizzie (the protagonist pictured in the photo above), being brutally aware of the blatant hypocrisy in which she speaks of the pride and prejudice of others and yet was desperately ignorant of her own, it didn’t take long at all for me to warm up to her and feel like she was deserving of some respect and, perhaps, adulation. I was immediately in love with her older sister Jane and her younger sister, Lydia.

And it only took me this weekend to complete the 100 episode series from beginning to end (don’t worry each episode is only 3-5 minutes long, so it was such a heavy feat as it sounds).

I am resisting the urge to post any pictures of Bing Lee (Bingley) or Mr Darcy as I felt that the surprise at finally seeing them was paramount to the tension and addictive nature of the series. So if you have yet to take up the task, then I suggest you start at the beginning and refrain from any sneak peeks!

2. CrashCourse

CrashCourse

Photo credit: guygordon.com

Another Youtube channel that just made my weekend – or more like my day (specifically today) more bearable is CrashCourse. Again, possibly late on the bandwagon. Specifically, it’s the World History playlist from this channel that I am oddly addicted to.

What’s it about? Well it’s John Green – yes, The Fault in Our Stars, and Paper Towns John Green – serving a dish of historical pie to the supposed History last-minute exam crammers. Surprising the audience for these videos do not merely include those who require some historical education – or maybe not surprisingly cause John Green somehow makes civilisation-learning fun – but it also contains a whole bunch of people who binge watch it for entertainment. Yes, world history as entertainment.

And because of these videos I had the etymology of barbarian, Barbary Coast, ashur, pantheon and Zoroastrianism clogging up my tabs.

My head almost exploded after the perspective-taking of the Persians and the Greeks – empire vs. democracy – speech that I had to take a break today.

3. Teen Wolf Season 5

Teen-Wolf-Season-5

Photo credit: images-cdn.moviepilot.com

It’s been a pretty grim beginning to the new season of Teen Wolf and I’m already slowly developing my own theory as to the role and purpose of these new nemesis, the ‘Doctors’.

There is nothing much to say really, apart from the fact that, since the episodes come out on Tuesdays, there is always something for me to look forward to at the start of these weeks. Which makes everything so much better when I can see Kira and Lydia slowly growing into their element.

Well, those are the three things that make my days slightly better. They could also equally be the contributing factor to my current wild dreams – at least I know that Teen Wolf should be partially to blame for them. No psychoanalysis yet?

Oh, and sideline things making me happier, I made a pre-order purchase of Ernest Cline’s new book, Armada, that is, according to Book Depository, on its way to being shipped. If I manage to finish it, I’ll probably do another book review. As you can probably see from my Books Read List of 2015, 2015 has not been my year for reading. It’s been abysmal at best.

Let’s not dwell on that – have a bearable and, maybe even, amazing week, guys!

Till next time,

cumuloq

Leave a Reply

