3 Days, 3 Quotes: Book Tag (Day 3)

Hi everyone!

And this is the last day of a very short challenge. But, at the same time, I guess it kind of reminds me of the books that have stood out the most for me in the last few, most recent years, and I guess it also singles out what books left a lasting impression on me by the words they had in their pages in the most perfect sequence.

The Rules:

Thank the person who nominated you.
Post a quote for 3 consecutive days (1 quote for each day).
Nominate three new bloggers each day.

So today I wanted to change it up. I guess the most accessible quotes have been those that are ambiguous and can be applied to almost any context, at any time and space. Something useful. But I think sometimes we also need quotes to remind us of the situations of others, minorities, the overlooked. And that’s why I want to end this challenge with a quote that reflects on the absolute hate of the human race from a young black woman who was just trying to live a life of her own.

Photo of Maya Angelou

“It was awful to be Negro and have no control over my life. It was brutal to be young and already trained to sit quietly and listen to charges brought against my color with no chance of defense. We should all be dead. I thought I should like to see us all dead, one on top of the other. A pyramid of flesh with the whitefolks on the bottom, as the broad base, then the Indians with their silly tomahawks and teepees and wigwams and treaties, the Negroes with their mops and recipes and cotton sacks and spirituals sticking out of their mouths. The Dutch children should all stumble in their wooden shoes and break their necks. The French should choke to death on the Louisiana Purchase (1803) while silkworms ate all the Chinese with their stupid pigtails. As a species, we were an abomination. All of us.”
Maya Angelou, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

Nominated bloggers today:

  1. khrissycorruption
  2. Janika Senados
  3. Journeytotruthblog

Please feel free to accept or disregard the challenge. 🙂 And, now I’m done! Again, thank you The Ultimate Book Geek for the challenge.

cumuloq ❤

Leave a Reply

