Favourite Games of 2015

5 tgfyv - friday

Hey guys!

Happy New Year! It’s finally 2016, and I have a really good feeling about this year. I have yet to make any concrete plans or resolutions, but I have a nervous excited energy about this year. But, before we go on and prepare for all our plans, let me take a quick look back at all the games I’ve loved last year.

Now, personally, I’m not the type to play many games on my own. Mostly cause I suffer from Player 2 syndrome – which I personally classify as a co-op, safer, perfectionist kind of attitude when it comes to gaming. I’m also kind of a backseat driver kind of player. I like to watch other people do things before I give it a go myself so I can assess what can probably be done better. So, a lot of the games I do end up playing on my own have the tendency to be low-risk, creative games. So this list has nothing to do with games I play on my own, and more to do with games that I loved to watch and fell in love with watching.

So here goes:

10. Town of Salem 

Party, strategy | BlankMediaGames, LLC | Browser Steam (software)

Yup, Town of Salem is still a favourite from 2014 – which seems apparent from my most recent, previous post. But it definitely has slipped a couple of notches in my favourite list. Mostly because the servers nowadays are overrun by either people who understand the game enough for each game to be too straightforward, or trolls who are completely trying to ruin the gameplay, or flakes that leave immediately when the game starts leaving either the town or mafia vulnerable.

Favourite Youtubers for this: ChilledChaos, ZeRoyalViking

9. Mario Kart 8

Racing | Nintendo EAD Group No. 1 | Nintendo 

It is the fact that it went up to 200cc and that there are amazing new courses and characters that were added into the gameplay that keeps Mario Kart 8 on my list of favourites. 200cc definitely added to the salt that was already accumulating in the videos of the Derp Crew. Plus, I just love the Big Blue course (final course of Bell Cup). It is a thing of beauty.

Favourite Youtubers for this: TomFawkes, GaLm, ChilledChaos, YOGCAST Kim

8. Depth 

FPS action | Digital Confectioners | Microsoft Windows

Humans vs. Sharks! Depth is another one that was created in 2014, but became a lot more complex and interesting in 2015 with new maps and new game modes and new sharks.

Favourite Youtubers for this: Ohmwrecker, H2ODelirious, GassyMexican 

7. Life is Strange

Episodic graphic adventure | Dontnod Entertainment | Square Enix

A girl who discovers she can turn back time. I kind of expected Life is Strange to be my new To the Moon – but it didn’t really have the same oof to it. There were parts of it that seemed like a generic teen narrative – and then there were some really strong episodes like ‘Out of Time’ (Chapter 2) and ‘Dark Room’ (Chapter 4). So it still makes it in my list because of those unforgettable moments that really took up chunks of my 2015. Plus, spending quality time watching an LP I loved from YOGCAST Kim made it so much more rewarding. I honestly hated all other LPs of it. Kim made choices I would have made.

Favourite Youtubers for this: YOGCAST Kim 

6. Until Dawn 

Interactive drama, survival horror | Supermassive Games | Sony Computer Entertainment

Eight teenagers in a cabin – with something after them. Try to help them survive with the help of the butterfly effect totems. I remember the first time seeing this game I stumbled halfway into a livestream of it on Chilled’s channel. I thought the “Don’t Move” feature of the game, using the motion controls of the PS4 to be amazing – and also I knew that if I ever ended up trying to play this game I would fail miserably because of my naturally shaky hands. So I proceeded to watch every other youtuber do well – or really really horribly – through this game. And honestly the reactions were some of the best parts of my 2015 youtube gaming experience. And I have this game to thank for it.

Favourite Youtubers for this: ChilledChaos, Markiplier, Achievement Hunters

5. Don’t Starve Together / Don’t Starve Shipwrecked

Action-adventure | Klei entertainment

I kind of cheated and put the two together, but they are all under the same game, i.e. Don’t Starve. While I have been watching Don’t Starve for a while now, it is only most recently that I’ve found the right Youtubers and that the new updates make for much more challenging and engaging gameplay. I love the artwork of this game so much and all the small quirks. I so want a beefalo plushie or a chester plushie. Everything in this game just screams out to me.

Favourite Youtubers for this: MathasGames, GassyMexican, OhmWrecker

4. Rocket League

Sports | Psyonix

Okay, it may seem really crazy, but this game is incredibly addictive to watch and, having watched too much of this, I get way too into it. On the surface it seems like just a game of cars playing soccer, but it is so incredibly well-made with slow-mo goals and speed boosters. I think the two friends I suggested this game to immediately became hooked on it for how great it is. Just for the sheer pleasure it brings, it definitely deserves to be high up on my list.

Favourite Youtubers for this: Ohmwrecker, Chilledchaos

3. Undertale

Role-playing | toby fox

What first appealed to me for this game is that you can choose to either fight or talk your way out of a fight – and that all choices you make, the game remembers. At first, I thought that was all the game had going for it, but it really surprised me how much I loved it. It sort of breaks the fourth wall at many points within the game and really pulls the finger of the RPG genre. Because of how original and unique it is, it definitely will be remember as one of my favourites this year.

Favourite Youtubers of this: Game Grumps (Barry and Ross) 

2. Keep Talking and Nobody Explodes 

Puzzle | Steel Crate Games

When I first saw this game being played by Ross, Arin and Barry on Steam Train, I absolutely fell in love with the concept immediately. Basically one of the players will be playing the game (you can even use the oculus rift) and the other friends all have a bomb defusal manual to help that person defuse the bomb. Neither can look at what the other one is doing and they need to rely on one another to get the bomb defused. There are different levels and they get progressively harder, either by increasing the manuals you need to do, the types of manuals or simply just by reducing the timer. Because of how creative the concept is and how impressive it is to watch a person defuse a bomb, I absolutely count it as a really high favourite in 2015. I’m also impartial to puzzle games. It also means I have to be incredibly subjective as to who I watch play this game – because sheer stupidity can be a huge wet blanket. But then again, some people watch it just to see people be stupid.

Favourite Youtubers for this: LtHummus, Game Grumps, Ohmwrecker

1. Splatoon

Third-person shooter, platformer | Nintendo EAD Group No. 2 | Nintendo

And my favourite this year is Splatoon! You’re a kid/squid in a post-apocalyptic world where you’ve entered the Squid Wars, teams battling each other for ink territory. I fell in love with music of this game, the entire game play of it, the lovely art. I also thought it was a wonderful idea for a third-person shooter. Incredibly dynamic – except when there was incredible amounts of lag. So I salute Splatoon as no. 1 in my heart for 2015!

Favourite Youtubers for this: GaLm

So those are my favourites for 2015! It was a good year of Let’s Plays and gaming, especially since I made a concerted and conscious effort to record all of my favourites down. One of my plans this year is definitely to continue doing this. 2015 was definitely a year of progress in my love for video games. I personally managed to complete Portal 2, three chapters of The Walking Dead, Game Dev Tycoon and, as usual, play way too much Sims 3 (I refuse to play the newest version). I hope 2016 I can continued this investment into a nerdy part of me I just refuse to give up – but at the same time I want to be able to negotiate it with my love for books, movies and tv shows as well. So I’m still trying to find a middling ground.

Once again, happy new year! Hope you are all healthy and loved.

Till next time,

cumuloq ❤

Leave a Reply

