My Top 5 Favourite Female Youtube Gamers

5 tgfyv - friday

I believe a while back I did a post on my top 5 favourite female beauty youtubers. Since then, I thought that it was funny that I made a list for female beauty gurus when most of the time I spend on youtube is actually watching Let’s Plays and games – not girls putting on make-up.

Hence, today I thought it was befitting to shine the light on some BAMF youtube gamers who just so happen to also be girls.

Now, I’m not getting into the whole debate of whether the term “girl gamer” is either derogatory or empowering to the female gender within the gaming industry, but here, I just want to share with you guys these youtubers who make me proud in the field of gaming.

And no, I’m not choosing the best female MLGs around in the world – I’m choosing youtubers who have made an impression, in one way or another, to me.

5. Aureylian – Mostly Minecraft gamer (200,000+ subscribers)

5-AureylianAurey pretty much looks like Ariel in real life. I just had to say this first. I mostly watch her through her weekly, Building Game, but I admire her most because of the type of image she tries to portray to her audience.

I feel like she stands apart from some of the other gamers because she really does not attempt to (for lack of a better expression) “sell” the fact that she is a girl. She also addresses the issue which I did not want to get into, i.e. the “girl gamer” term really well. Here’s her PSA video which I believe is really well thought out.

“It is just really unfortunate that we have to do that, as girls, we have to worry about things that we wear. And I have to worry about someone insulting my intelligence …”

So if you’re looking for someone who is genuinely sincere about the way she addresses her audience, Aurey’s channel will be perfect for you!

4. Barbara Dunkelman – Marketing and Community Manager of Rooster Teeth

4-Barbara-DunkelmanKnown for her ridiculously corny puns on the Rooster Teeth Podcast (“Dammit, Barbara!”), Barbara comes in fourth in this list because of her impressive diversity in the gaming and entertainment community.

This includes, but is not limited to, being a co-director of RTX, the Rooster Teeth annual convention, a voice actress for Yang in the web-series RWBY (which I’ve only recently started watching – I’m all caught up now) and her other associations in Rooster Teeth created projects.

Personally, I feel like she’s underrated as a gamer in the community. She’s a very decent player in both FPS and platform games and she proved this in Season 2 of The Gauntlet as well as in various Let’s Plays featuring the Podcast Crew.

Plus, the fact that she was almost booted out of a male-dominated community because they did not believe a girl could love a Halo-parodied series, Redvs.Blue, so much is definitely saying something about her cred.

3. iHasCupquake a.k.a. Tiffany – Indie gamer (1,600,000+ subscribers)

3-iHasCupquakeCupquake is honestly one of the very first Minecrafters that I followed back in the days and fell absolutely in love with watching her videos.

Maybe it’s because of this reason that I’ve chosen her as one of my favourites, ’cause she’s buried a nice warm spot in my heart.

In terms of content, her more well-known Minecraft series include Minecraft Oasis and Cloud 9. She also does the Sims and a few flash and indie games here and there.

She is honestly, to me, one of the most dedicated and hardworking youtubers out there, and this is evident when you look at her large and supportive community. I mean, just check out the wikia entirely dedicated on her.

She also gives small showcases to smaller Youtubers from the gaming community on her weekly vlog series, Piece of Quake. Therefore I feel like, as a youtuber, she really makes an effort to not only share her love of games, art etc. but also attempt to know the people who watch her.

2. Meg Turney – Youtube Personality, Cosplayer (170,000+ subscribers)

2-Meg-TurneyI started watching Meg back when she was in SourceFed. There, during Head2Head matches, I always rooted for Meg to win – and no, not because she was girl – but because she honestly was the only one who could possibly beat Philip DeFranco‘s winning streak on the channel.

To me, Meg is a powerhouse nerd. She has the cultural knowledge and know-how around fandoms, anime and gaming, and she is also a more than decent gamer herself – especially when it comes to Nintendo games.

Right now, she is currently working as a co-host for The Know with Rooster Teeth. So, yes, she is totally BFFs with the above mentioned Barbara Dunkelman.

Honestly, out of the Youtubers I’ve mentioned so far, I feel as though if Meg Turney were in a Youtuber gaming competition, I would feel more than confident to root for her all the way to the end. She has that competitive edge to stand apart from her male counterparts in the industry, and I feel that this is what will keep her in her profession for a very long time.

1. Dodger a.k.a. Brooke Lawson – Polaris Youtuber (480,000+ subscribers)

1-PressHearttoContinueDodger is definitely my current favourite gamer. I discovered her from Polaris’ Friend Zone where she is the host of a two-and-a-half-hours-long livestream where a bunch of Youtubers get together to play games (tabletop, cards and video games) and talk together in onesies.

Yes it is as awesome as it sounds.

Whenever I want to just chill-out, I’ll click a random Friend Zone episode and she’s there to liven up my afternoon.

Just like Meg, I feel as though she has all the cultural gaming knowledge and skills to give any gaming guy a run for his money – which is probably why she is a regular host on almost all the shows of Polaris, a sub-network of Maker Studios that focuses mainly on gaming content.

I also love Dodger for her personality – and I think you really need to watch one of her videos to discover why. She has the most infectious laugh and bubbly enthusiasm necessary for her to climb this list and make it on top.

Oh, and just to show you how incredible Friend Zone looks, here’s a screencap of them playing Celebrity Heads (Dodger’s in the yellow fox onesie):

Friend Zone

And that’s all from me for today! I hope you discovered some lovely new women from this list. Some honourable other mentions (and you can go google them yourself) include RPGMinx, Rachelkip and Suzy from Game Grumps. Also, if I missed out any of your adamant favourites, don’t be afraid to list them down in the comments.

Enjoy your weekend, readers, and stay tuned for more content!

Cumuloq ❤

Disclaimer: All photos are not mine and belong to their original sources

One thought on “My Top 5 Favourite Female Youtube Gamers

  1. Thank you for sharing this! I’m on the hunt for some female LPer’s and your list is great! I’m trying to find some plus-size youtubers to follow (preferably gamers) so if you know of any, please share. ^.^

Leave a comment